Sour Cream Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I started baking when I was 8. I am now 58 with 10 grandchildren and always bring the "goodies" for Christmas dinner. I love to bake and cook, did it for a living at several times in life. Getting depressed I would bake. My grandmother was my inspiration. She was the head cook at an Air Force Base where they tried to get the President of the U.S. to allow her to work when she was forced to retire. We are talking great cook unparalleled by anyone. We could never find a roll out sugar cookie that just said "YES!". Found these doing a search as I had received more sour cream than I had ordered from a warehouse store where my husband picked it up. So, in a week's time, I have now made this three times. EVERYONE who has tried them can't stop eating them. AND I NEED SOME FOR CHRISTMAS. If the dough is sticky, either it was under chilled (I only had to wait an hour) or a little more flour, go slow, should have been added. I personally didn't have any problems. They rolled out well, rose great while cooking, and taste fantastic. If they are like "sugary biscuits" they are too thick and have too much sugar as these have just the right amount of sweet, not so much you get sick. This is the recipe I have spent years looking for. They are soft, full of flavor and even the ones I rolled too thin tasted great! I use my own cream cheese frosting I created so I can't comment on that but the sugar cookie is the best ever! Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Lea Lenz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Not at all impressed w these. They are much closer to a shortbread cookie than a sugar cookies. The dough was easy enough to work with, though stickier than the recipe that i usually make. I wont be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Sparks, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teacher d
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Well I must be some kind of moron because I sure couldn't get these to resemble cookies at all. Mine turned out to be tasty, not sweet, crumbly little cakes with Maize and Blue frosting. I thought leaving the dough in the refrigerator over night, as some recommended, would help. I think I'll put candles in each, as if they were cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacher d

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Whitmore Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Very dry cookie with no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This is the BEST sugar cookie recipe!! It doesn't leave any sourish after taste, is soft, chewy, not too sweet, but sweet enough. I put mine in the oven on the top rack for 5 minutes and that was perfect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Changed this a bit because I wanted something with lemon. Instead of sour cream, I substituted lemon yogurt (I prefer yogurt with fat). Also, I added about 1/4 -1/2 tsp cardammom. Perfect! Tastes fancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This recipe was THE hit this Christmas season. I made two batches one as posted and the other with a 1/4 tsp of almond extract. I preferred the almond version, but both were absolutely fantastic. We were looking for a puffy cookie that held together well when frosting, and this is THE recipe. Unlike a previous review, refrigerating the dough overnight did not have a negative impact on it's workability or baking, but when the dough was completely chilled, it did work better to let it sit on the counter 5-10 minutes before rolling. Speaking of rolling, this is the first time I've used parchment paper. Using a quarter of the dough, estimate the size of parchment paper so when it was folded over, the dough can be rolled to the 1/4" thickness and still have the parchment paper cover the entire dough surface (top and bottom). The trick I learned was after rolling, pull the top layer of paper up and away from the dough, then flip the dough and paper over so the bottom is now on top. Pull this layer of paper away from the dough. This helps the cookies to EASILY release from the paper with out adding the extra flour (never been a fan of this). Oh yeah, way less messy with baking with kids! These cookies are saved for ever!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Ayr, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I made some by the Recipe and another batch a added a teaspoon of peppermint extract to both the cookie dough and the frosting. They where both wonderful. My little sister and brother had so much fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This has been a huge hit with my family for a long time. Instead of frosting we put a chocolate star in the middle and 4 M&Ms evenly spaced around it before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I had high hopes for these cookies with the great reviews. The dough tasted fantastic. The finished product tasted like flour. They rolled out wonderfully but the finished texture was flaky, like a biscuit. I made the mistake of refrigerating part of the dough overnight to see how it did...it was a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States