Sour Cream Spritz Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I really liked this recipe! I thought the sweetness was just right and the flavors of the cinnamon and vanilla came together really well. I also added a little bit of dried orange zest to the dough. The only thing that I had a negative comment on was that the cookies came out slightly dry. The texture was great, but my husband commented that he needed milk after eating a couple of them. I used my new battery operated cookie press that the dough was sooooo easy to work with! I was so excited, after many failed attempts with a cookie press. Definitely a keeper and I'd appreciate if any other reviewer would comment on what I can do to help with the dryness. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
I like these cookies. I did chill the dough first, but will not the next time. The bottoms browned a little fast so I changed to an "air bake" sheet, then on my regular cookie sheets I used a "silpat" both worked well. Next time I may try a small amount of raspberry jam in the centers for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carl Junction, Missouri, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
This was my second time using my cookie press and it was a MUCH easier task than the first time I tried! The dough was good to work with and probably should not be chilled (If the dough is too hard, it'd be more difficult to push out with the press or something like that). I added 1/2 tsp ground ginger, dash of nutmeg, and a dash of allspice to make it more flavorful, but the final cookie itself actually just needed more sweetness. It tasted a bit salty, but the texture was very good. Melts in your mouth. Next time, I would use more sugar or less salt. I had to frost some of them or added a chocolate chip in the center of the ones with the flower design. I kept switching the plate to experiment! I was very happy that the dough was so compliant -- I had almost cried the first time I used the press cuz I had been so excited to use it but was so frustrated that it wasn't working! I should've tried this recipe first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Simple, yet delicious. Made these with my cookie press and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Nice, simple recipe and the cookies are great. I would suggest putting the dough in the refrigerator for about an hour before using the cookie press. This is a good recipe for children to practice making holiday cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This recipe is fantastic! Very easy to make and melt-in-the-mouth delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
The best spritz recipe I have tried! My kids and I make these and they don't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
My daughter and I made these, and they are EXCELLENT! We highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I made these for my cookie press, they turned out GREAT! I don't like sweets and these were perfect for me, not to sweet, but a good flavor with the seasonings added. It wasn't quite sweet enough for the sweet lovers, but they still really enjoyed them... They were very soft, and easy to make. I will make them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
My six month old just loved these cookies. My older children joyed them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States