Sour Cream Spritz Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
This recipe has terrific flavor, but was a NIGHTMARE in my cookie press..... it wouldn't stick to the tray (I tried a baking stone, an airbake pan and a pan lined with silpat) and wouldn't come off the press without making them huge (like 3 pumps each). I tried it chilled & fresh. But, like I said, the flavor is awesome so I may try again but alter some of the ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogiesGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
These cookies are so good! I've made several batches of them in the past 2 weeks. Some for home, some for my husband to take to work and some for friends. Everyone LOVES these cookies! I will be including these in my cookie baskets this Christmas! YUMMY! My only thought ~I think they NEED to have sugar sprinkled on top or they aren't quite sweet enough. We made pumpkin and leaf shapes with orange sugar. They disappeared FAST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
I thought I would make these since they got such great reviews. They certainly were not a hit with my family. They seemed bland and a little dry. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
These were very good, but they are super-easy to overcook. Be very aggressive with taking them out of the oven. I never had a batch that lasted the recommended time. They all needed to come out a couple of minutes early. These are great with the "Sugar Cookie Frosting" recipe on this site. It softens them up a little and gives an extra sweetness for those who like frosted cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
These worked so well in the cookie press without refridgeration. The kids make the cookies and did a great job..very kid friendly recipe. I didn't try the cinnamon but added more vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
Excellent dough for coloring and pressing; bakes into a light but flavorful cookie! I look forward to making these again next holiday season! (I have tried at least 5 spritz cookie recipies this winter... This one tops them all!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLKENNEDY67

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
Just made the cookies. They are okay but not great. I am used to spritz cookies made with crisco. I didn't like the sour cream addition at all. They did press well though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Perfect! I just finished making a batch of these with my 6 year old. He will not stop eating them! He keeps telling me "oh this one is messed up" because I told him he could eat the mess ups! The only thing was that we did not add cinnamon. I already have a cinnamon cookie in the line up and wanted something without spice. We did sprinkle colored sugar on these before baking, which adhered nicely. I used the dough with the Wilton cookie press Pro. This recipe was easy to mix, easy to use and fast. Watch the baking time though, just one minute too much can really be too much. These are best underdone than overdone, but either way, a great recipe. I used unsalted butter and added the half tsp of salt, and it was perfect. A keeper for every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROSPERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This spritz cookie is delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, and they came out perfect. My family loves them! I baked the whole batch without having to refrigerate the dough, and they held their shape, even until the last tray. I brushed on egg white and added sprinkles. I usually make a recipe with cream cheese, but this is going to be my new recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA97303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States