Sour Cream Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
My family would not eat this, and begged me to never make it again. Also it made the whole house stink, husband had to open all the windows. Maybe if you were raised with this flavor you might like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wanda
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Sour Cream Roast is my FAV! I initially posted this recipe from my Grandma's recipe. However, as people mentioned, the gravy with this recipe is a bit bland. I find that if you use 3/4 c. of vinegar initially and use 1 1/2 c. of meat drippings to create the gravy, you'll have a very nice white gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This was great! My husband had finished his third serving before I finally stopped him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I liked this recipe but looking at the previous reveiws changed the gravy a bit. 2 Tablespoons Cornstarch and 2 Tablespoons cold water mixed together. Then 1 Cup meat juices (including onion it was cooked in)and 1 cup plain yogurt instead of whipping cream. I suppose you could use sour cream or half sour cream & half whipping cream. I added salt and pepper to this. It was good but it's an acquired taste so if you don't like vinegar all that well stay away from this recipe. I served it with potato pancakes and sweet and sour cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I agree with Denise, the sauce was a let down and does need something. Maybe use real sour cream and add some white wine to the gravy when whisking to give it some flavor. The meat was very tender and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This was okay but the gravy was kind of a let down. Needs something, garlic maybe, more salt definitely. The roast was tender, we all liked it. I'll probably try it again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This recipe was great. Terrific. Only down point was the gravy. Kinda bland; once spiced up, it too was great. This one will be a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This would have to be an acquired taste. No one in our family would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States