Sour Cream-Rhubarb Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2001
I took this to work and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
I made these bars for a large public gathering and they were a hit. I did use plain yogurt instead of sour cream. I would also try these bars with other fresh fruit in season. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
I made this recipe and served it a the cake for strawberry shortcake. It was delicious. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
These bars are very tasty. Be warned: when you are reading the printed recipe it can be confusing; the list of ingredients read from left to right (that's how you read it to coincide with the steps). The only change I made was I whirled frozen rhubarb in my food processor because I just don't like stringy foods and they turned out wonderful. They were cake-like and golden brown. Absolutely perfect with a cup of coffee or tea on this very damp, chilly, rainy day. Also, your house will smell marvelous while these bake! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
very good everyone loved them and wanted more...easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MABAKEIT
Reviewed: May 29, 2004
I have a lot of great rhubarb recipes but this one will not be added to my file. I found it extremely dry and tasteless. I couldn't even taste the rhubarb. Probably needed another egg, some oil and a lot more rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
easy to make and actually tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
mmmm...this was delicious. I made it twice with different, but equally good results. the first time i made it, i followed the recipe fairly close, but used a combo of yogurt and mayonnaise instead of the s. cream because i had none. I also added about twice the topping. this was very good, verrrry moist, and some of the topping dropped to the bottom and made a caramelly stuff. mmmm. the second time, i added about 1/2 c. extra flour and less mayo. This was more like a traditional coffee cake - very good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I made this in an 8x8 pan and it came out very cake-like. It tasted much better the 2nd day - I didn't really care for it fresh out of the oven. But it was very moist and I was pleasantly surprised when I had some for breakfast the morning after I made it. It came out a lot like a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
Awesome recipe. It's confusing following the directions at first but once you figure it out, you'll have a delicious desert! A great way to use your rhubarb. Delicious and I'll recommend it to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States