Sour Cream-Rhubarb Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Really creative way to use rhubarb. Reminds me of a combination between apple crisp and coffee cake. Would be nice with a powdered sugar drizzle. Thanks for this post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
I made this with half whole-wheat flour, and non-fat sour cream. It turned out great! Better the second day -- the rhubarb moisture disperses into the cake, as does the flavor. More rhubarb, up to 2 1/2 cups, is an improvement. I found that it baked 5-10 minutes faster; that might be the explanation for the baker who found it dry. A definite keeper for rhubarb season! I'm going to try freezing it, and I'm going to try it with double the topping as suggested above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I thought these were pretty good, they went fast at work. Not my favorite recipe but still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I thought that these would be like lemon bars or raspberry bars, but they are actually much more like a coffee cake. These were so moist and had the perfect amount of topping (although when I was making it, I thought that it seemed like a lot). I personally think that next time I will double the rhubarb. You could hardly taste it in the original recipe. Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
Awesome recipe. It's confusing following the directions at first but once you figure it out, you'll have a delicious desert! A great way to use your rhubarb. Delicious and I'll recommend it to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I made this in an 8x8 pan and it came out very cake-like. It tasted much better the 2nd day - I didn't really care for it fresh out of the oven. But it was very moist and I was pleasantly surprised when I had some for breakfast the morning after I made it. It came out a lot like a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
mmmm...this was delicious. I made it twice with different, but equally good results. the first time i made it, i followed the recipe fairly close, but used a combo of yogurt and mayonnaise instead of the s. cream because i had none. I also added about twice the topping. this was very good, verrrry moist, and some of the topping dropped to the bottom and made a caramelly stuff. mmmm. the second time, i added about 1/2 c. extra flour and less mayo. This was more like a traditional coffee cake - very good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
easy to make and actually tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
I have a lot of great rhubarb recipes but this one will not be added to my file. I found it extremely dry and tasteless. I couldn't even taste the rhubarb. Probably needed another egg, some oil and a lot more rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
very good everyone loved them and wanted more...easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MABAKEIT

Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States