Sour Cream-Rhubarb Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This was amazing! I followed the advice of others by adding more rhubarb. I used just over 2 1/2 cups, and I'm glad I did. With adding this extra rhubarb, it does need to cook for at least 40-45 minutes. I know some people cautioned to check it earlier than the directions. I was amazed at how tender the rhubarb was considering that it was raw when it went in the oven. I did make a few alterations. I used light sour cream, I cut back the brown sugar by 1/4 of a cup, and for the topping, I used half the sugar, and used Sweet'n Low for the other half. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albertville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
These bars are very tasty. Be warned: when you are reading the printed recipe it can be confusing; the list of ingredients read from left to right (that's how you read it to coincide with the steps). The only change I made was I whirled frozen rhubarb in my food processor because I just don't like stringy foods and they turned out wonderful. They were cake-like and golden brown. Absolutely perfect with a cup of coffee or tea on this very damp, chilly, rainy day. Also, your house will smell marvelous while these bake! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
These were very good but I would like to have had a little more rhubarb in the bars. Several of my bites had no rhubarb in them in the squares I ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
I made this with half whole-wheat flour, and non-fat sour cream. It turned out great! Better the second day -- the rhubarb moisture disperses into the cake, as does the flavor. More rhubarb, up to 2 1/2 cups, is an improvement. I found that it baked 5-10 minutes faster; that might be the explanation for the baker who found it dry. A definite keeper for rhubarb season! I'm going to try freezing it, and I'm going to try it with double the topping as suggested above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
I made these bars for a large public gathering and they were a hit. I did use plain yogurt instead of sour cream. I would also try these bars with other fresh fruit in season. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
I made this recipe and served it a the cake for strawberry shortcake. It was delicious. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Good and easy. Maybe it's a minor point but it is a lot easier when the ingredients are listed in order. The sugar, melted butter (which doesn't say to melt it in the list of ingredients), nuts and cinnamon should be listed first - or at least be together in the list. It just makes it easier than to search the list when they're out of order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I thought that these would be like lemon bars or raspberry bars, but they are actually much more like a coffee cake. These were so moist and had the perfect amount of topping (although when I was making it, I thought that it seemed like a lot). I personally think that next time I will double the rhubarb. You could hardly taste it in the original recipe. Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Very good, but I agree with the other reviewers that it doesn't call for enough rhubarb. I used 2 1/2 cups, turned the oven down to 325, and added 30 minutes of baking time. It came out just right. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This was a great recipe! The cake turned out to be very moist, and was just the right balance of tart and sweet. I also put a little over 2 cups of rhubarb in, but made no other changes. I do think that the directions and ingredients list should probably be edited so that they are a little bit clearer—they made sense after I read them through a few times, but I can see how they could be confusing. Thanks for the recipe—I know that I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States