Sour Cream-Rhubarb Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Very, very good. My family finished them in 1 day! As posted by another reviewer, the recipe is a little confusing and the ingredients aren't in the correct order so be sure to read it carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
These were very good but I would like to have had a little more rhubarb in the bars. Several of my bites had no rhubarb in them in the squares I ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was very well recieved at a party. I felt this is very much a cake recipe. I liked the topping very much. I think it could use a little more rhubarb added. Overall, very nice served as a dessert with whipped cream, or at breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was a great recipe. I used butter for the shortening and made up the lack of sour cream with some plain yogurt. So moist and yummy. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYLINK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
My family enjoyed this very much. I doubled the rhubarb and also added a couple of ripe bananas which made it extremely moist. I think the bananas toned down the rhubarb flavor and ended up being very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This recipes yields a lovely, slightly sweet rhubarb cake. I have also made "Rhubarb Cake I" from this website. That recipes uses buttermilk and I like the texture and flavor using sour cream. My family preferred this one. I served it with strawberry ice cream. Super good as a brunch or desert cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Definately a coffee cake instead of squares and definately needs more rhubarb but very nummy! My husband says definately a keeper! The only thing I did do differently is to remove the "skin" from the rhubarb. I didnt know that you needed to do that but my hubbie said your suppose too. I dont know but did and it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer Murrweiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RueBarbe
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Very moist and very tasty! It's like a short coffee cake. I used part sour cream and part yogurt, because I didn't have enough sour cream. I didn't give it 5 stars because more rhubarb would be better, as others have stated. Will definitely make again. We enjoyed it cooled about 2 hours out of the oven. No idea if it will be better the second day: I was going to send the leftovers to work with my husband tomorrow, but there won't be any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This was amazing! I followed the advice of others by adding more rhubarb. I used just over 2 1/2 cups, and I'm glad I did. With adding this extra rhubarb, it does need to cook for at least 40-45 minutes. I know some people cautioned to check it earlier than the directions. I was amazed at how tender the rhubarb was considering that it was raw when it went in the oven. I did make a few alterations. I used light sour cream, I cut back the brown sugar by 1/4 of a cup, and for the topping, I used half the sugar, and used Sweet'n Low for the other half. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albertville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I made the recipe exactly as written but only needed to bake it 40 minutes in a glass pan. Loved it, thought it was very moist and a great way to use rhubarb. The next time I make it though, I will double the amount of rhubarb as some reviewers suggested. I did think the directions were a little confusing at first..try reading side to side instead of down after printing. The recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States