Sour Cream Raspberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
This is a great recipe, 5 star, the only thing I will add next time is a maybe a tablespoon of cornstarch to the berries to help retain the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
OMG this recipe was horrible! What in the name of all that is holy did you people see in this recipe? It looked horrible after baking, it took forever to bake, I baked it for over 40 mins at the recommended temp to give up and finally pull it out of the oven cause it was so runny looking in the middle.... and what is with the crumb topping on top, it does nothing for the pie. Maybe if you used graham crackers or something instead of plain bread crumbs? The flavor wasnt even right, I was embarrassed to serve this just by the look of it, but even more so that I wasted money on the ingredients of this and my time and it tasted "off". I used all fresh ingredients, and it was bland and lifeless. I have had 99% success with every recipe I have tried on this site, but this was the worst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
The recipe as is isn't that good. We could taste the flour in the sour cream mixture, the crumb topping should be eliminated or replaced with a better crumb mixture, the flavor was bland, and there needs to be more sugar. IF I were to try this recipe again I'd make some changes. For the sour cream mixture I'd use 1/4c flour, an additional 2T or so of sugar, and 1t vanilla extract. In the berries I'd add 2T sugar and 1T cornstarch and wouldn't bother with a crumble topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
This pie was very nice and not too sweet. I used blackberries instead of raspberries and as I only had about 1 cup of sour cream, substituted the other cup with berry flavoured no fat yoghurt. Turned out beautifully and was very well received!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
My five year old (I helped a little) made this pie for Easter. EVERYONE loved it, and it was super easy! However, the nine inch pans seemed a bit too big. I will either use 8 inch next time, or make a little extra custard to fill the pans more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
This was so good! I used frozen raspberries, followed the recipe exactly, and it fit perfectly into a prepared frozen Pillsbury deep dish pie crust. It took less that ten minutes. I doubled the recipe and baked two at the same time. Everyone loved them. Even the kids! I will make again and experiment with other fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This pie is delicious. I made it for Thanksgiving. It dissapeared way before the traditional pumpkin. Everyone loved it. I made it again but used mixed berries instead of just raspberries. Absolutely delightful...and very easy. Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This pie is one of my favorites. The only thing I do, as some others have said, is add cornstarch to the berries, it can be a bit runny otherwise. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This pie was very good. I did make a few changes, it was very runny so I put it in the fridge, it was alot better cold and set up nice. I also used a brown sugar, flour, and butter crumb topping instead. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This pie was very easy to make only took around 5 min. It turned out well and it tasted even better!!! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States