Sour Cream Raisin Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I've used this recipe at Christmas time for years. It's a family favorite from one generation to the next. If I dare to suggest I won't be making it I hear a collective outcry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This recipie was very good. There was not a scrap left by the end of the night. For spices, I used 1tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and a 1/4 tsp of cloves. I didn't have any cream of tarter for the merigune and it still turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricky835

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
This recipe was delicious! Very sweet and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I make a pie for my dad once a month and he requested a raisin cream pie. I used this recipe and he LOVED it! He said it reminded him of the same kind of pie his mom made (and she was an awesome cook). The best thing was that even though it was a little time consuming, it was easy, inexpensive, and did not require hard-to-find ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
made slight change used chocolate graham crust pie crust, very good but extra good only need small piece to satisfy sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
This was very simple and very delicious. I especially like the meringue. It turns out beautiful. Glenna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This pie was extremely easy to make. This pie is so delicious that it is almost sinful! This will be a new favorite to make for any special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Wow! Best raisin cream pie ever. The custard is rich and creamy, but not overly sweet, and the delicate brown sugar meringue looks beautiful. My guests loved it and even my son, who said he didn't like sour cream raisin pie, came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIFIGIRLM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cass Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Thank you for the great recipe! I didn't have nutmeg, so I used pumpkin pie spice, and it was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
My 99 year-old Grandma requested this pie as she remembers it from her days working for the Soo Line railroad in the 1920's. The rest of the family was suspicious because the combination of ingredients seemed so unfamiliar. Everyone was very pleasantly surprised by the wonderful, complex flavor. Very easy to make, the pie had the consistency of other cream pies e.g. Banana Cream, Coconut Cream. I had thought of leaving off the meringue, but that would have been a mistake-the brown sugar added a warm flavor note to offset the tang. My modifications: I reduced sugar to 3/4C(just because) and raisins to 3/4C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States