Sour Cream Raisin Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
My family loved this recipe! I did make one small change, which was rather than 3/4 t of nutmeg, I used 1/4 t nutmeg and 1/2 t cinammon. I will definitely use this receipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I made this pie yesterday for my father in law. I have never made nor tried SCR Pie before so I was going in it blind. I followed the recipe to the tea. I was a little disappointed that my meringue "shrunk". But I was going to leave the taste up to dad. (who I should say that has LOVED SCR pie since he was very very little, and his mom's was his FAV!!! Anyway, lets just say that my SCR Pie (this recipe) was just as good IF NOT BETTER then the one that his sister makes (who she was taught by my in laws mom!!!) WOW that was a wonderful compliment!!! So all in all I was very very happy that he loved this recipe and I am glad I went with it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Wow! Best raisin cream pie ever. The custard is rich and creamy, but not overly sweet, and the delicate brown sugar meringue looks beautiful. My guests loved it and even my son, who said he didn't like sour cream raisin pie, came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIFIGIRLM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cass Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
My 99 year-old Grandma requested this pie as she remembers it from her days working for the Soo Line railroad in the 1920's. The rest of the family was suspicious because the combination of ingredients seemed so unfamiliar. Everyone was very pleasantly surprised by the wonderful, complex flavor. Very easy to make, the pie had the consistency of other cream pies e.g. Banana Cream, Coconut Cream. I had thought of leaving off the meringue, but that would have been a mistake-the brown sugar added a warm flavor note to offset the tang. My modifications: I reduced sugar to 3/4C(just because) and raisins to 3/4C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
The filling on this pie sets up beautifully so A+ there. Also, meringue seemed like a weird topping for this pie but I decided to try it and it actually really balances out the tartness of the pie. Plus, since it's a brown sugar meringue it smells absolutely divine! I'm giving this recipe 4 stars since I knew beforehand that the nutmeg called for would likely overpower the pie. I reduced the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp. and added 1/4 tsp. each of ground cloves and cinnamon. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I make a pie for my dad once a month and he requested a raisin cream pie. I used this recipe and he LOVED it! He said it reminded him of the same kind of pie his mom made (and she was an awesome cook). The best thing was that even though it was a little time consuming, it was easy, inexpensive, and did not require hard-to-find ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This recipie was very good. There was not a scrap left by the end of the night. For spices, I used 1tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and a 1/4 tsp of cloves. I didn't have any cream of tarter for the merigune and it still turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Achter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
This was very simple and very delicious. I especially like the meringue. It turns out beautiful. Glenna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I've never made a custard type pie before but this turned out really good. The only change i made was to add some cinnamin. My husbands favorite pie is Sour Cream and Raisin and he loved it. I had never had this kind of pie and thought it sounded nasty but I really did like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I've used this recipe at Christmas time for years. It's a family favorite from one generation to the next. If I dare to suggest I won't be making it I hear a collective outcry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States