Sour Cream Raisin Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This pie is wonderful! I did not have enough sour cream, so I made up the difference with sweet cream - nice flavor. I also used 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. each cloves and nutmeg. I added 1/2 chopped pecans, as well. The meringue is the best I have ever made. I recomended this pie to a friend of mine that does professional baking. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I've never made a custard type pie before but this turned out really good. The only change i made was to add some cinnamin. My husbands favorite pie is Sour Cream and Raisin and he loved it. I had never had this kind of pie and thought it sounded nasty but I really did like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I made this pie yesterday for my father in law. I have never made nor tried SCR Pie before so I was going in it blind. I followed the recipe to the tea. I was a little disappointed that my meringue "shrunk". But I was going to leave the taste up to dad. (who I should say that has LOVED SCR pie since he was very very little, and his mom's was his FAV!!! Anyway, lets just say that my SCR Pie (this recipe) was just as good IF NOT BETTER then the one that his sister makes (who she was taught by my in laws mom!!!) WOW that was a wonderful compliment!!! So all in all I was very very happy that he loved this recipe and I am glad I went with it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
My 99 year-old Grandma requested this pie as she remembers it from her days working for the Soo Line railroad in the 1920's. The rest of the family was suspicious because the combination of ingredients seemed so unfamiliar. Everyone was very pleasantly surprised by the wonderful, complex flavor. Very easy to make, the pie had the consistency of other cream pies e.g. Banana Cream, Coconut Cream. I had thought of leaving off the meringue, but that would have been a mistake-the brown sugar added a warm flavor note to offset the tang. My modifications: I reduced sugar to 3/4C(just because) and raisins to 3/4C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
made slight change used chocolate graham crust pie crust, very good but extra good only need small piece to satisfy sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I must of done something wrong because this really wasn't good. I made it for my husband's birthday because always has been his favorite. My father-in-law thought that I bought it and said it was awful! He was so emberassed when he found out I made it! I feel like I followed the recipe exactly...not sure what went wrong. Just didn't taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I was so excited after reading all the reviews, but I found the pie to have a sour "bite" to it. I think next time I may try it without the lemon juice (not sure if this will affect the setting process as it cools, but will try it). I did use only 1/4 t nutmeg. I think the pie would be awesome if it were not so tangy. Possibly the person who used the yogurt had the right idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
My family loved this recipe! I did make one small change, which was rather than 3/4 t of nutmeg, I used 1/4 t nutmeg and 1/2 t cinammon. I will definitely use this receipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I must disagree with other reviewers who said this wasn't too sweet. It's quite sweet and rich. Too many raisins, too. Maybe 1 cup would be enough. Not the sour cream raisin pie recipe I'm seeking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This recipe was good but I found it very sweet. I will make it again but I will use less sugar. I also didn't have 1.5 cups of sour cream so I used 1/2 cup of fat free vanilla yogurt - perhaps this is the reason it was too sweet?? It would taste really good with a graham wafer crust. I also used 1/2 of craisins because I didn't have the full amount of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States