Sour Cream Raisin Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This pie is so delicious. My in-laws favorite. Because I'm not a meringue fan, I made it with a top crust brushed with egg and sprinkled with sugar. I will be making this every Thanksgiving from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logandale, Nevada, USA
Living In: Marysvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
The filling on this pie sets up beautifully so A+ there. Also, meringue seemed like a weird topping for this pie but I decided to try it and it actually really balances out the tartness of the pie. Plus, since it's a brown sugar meringue it smells absolutely divine! I'm giving this recipe 4 stars since I knew beforehand that the nutmeg called for would likely overpower the pie. I reduced the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp. and added 1/4 tsp. each of ground cloves and cinnamon. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Very good, but definitely too much nutmeg. I cut the amount back to 1/2 tsp, and next time I would cut it back to 1/4 tsp. The brown sugar meringue was attractive and very tasty, much nicer than regular meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
WONDERFUL!!! It set up perfectly and was very impressive as I made two to take to church. I would, however, make a double batch of the meringue, as I like lots of it. The brown sugar meringue was a big hit as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I did not care for this pie at all, but my Dad really liked it. Maybe it is an acquired taste. I thought it was too "spicy", and way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This was my first time making a sour cream raisin pie and it definitely won't be the last! The pie was devoured by all, and they know their raisin pie! Thank you for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
The recipe was crazy good. I was very pleased by the taste and how fluffy the meringue turned out. I am not a huge fan of raisins but this was a big hit in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana2007
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I made this yesterday for a dinner party. I remembered sour cream raisin pie from my childhood visits to my aunt's farm in Nebraska. This recipe is very similar to hers. I like a generous meringue, so I added an extra egg white and increase the brown sugar accordingly. It is a very rich pie, so I don't think I will make it again soon, but I will cetainly keep it in my file for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This was good, but if i were to make it again i would really reduce the sugar amount. It was way too sweet for my taste (and i have a sweet tooth.) But it was easy to make and turned out well. Best when eaten cold!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This pie is wonderful! I did not have enough sour cream, so I made up the difference with sweet cream - nice flavor. I also used 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. each cloves and nutmeg. I added 1/2 chopped pecans, as well. The meringue is the best I have ever made. I recomended this pie to a friend of mine that does professional baking. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States