Sour Cream Raisin Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I made this pie its hard to find a good one in restaurants or anywhere for that matter the pie had the flavor I was looking for, but much to sweet I will make this again but with 1/2 the sugar. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Delicious, but a little too sweet for my taste. Next time I'll cut the sugar back a little. The meringue was better than any I've ever made. I'll use this recipe for all my merengue pies. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Very good. Next time, would probably soak raisins in rum or brandy and half sugar. Otherwise, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
The custard is absolutely delicious, especially if you love nutmeg. However the pie all together is much too sweet. I couldn’t even finish one slice! I am going to try reducing the sugar in the meringue as well as cutting the raisins down to ¾ a cup. I hope this helps cut the sweetness enough because it has potential of becoming one of my favorite pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Unfortunately I did not like this pie. It is very sweet, had too many raisins, and the custard was not appealing at all for my taste. It was very easy to make and the brown sugar meringue is something to keep in mind for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
It was a bit too tart for my taste, and the filling overpowered the meringue. Interestingly, it tasted almost like carrot cake. My husband really liked it though, he would give it four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Carnes
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Made this pie yesterday, never made meringue before. I researched it on the internet so I'd know what to do...it was perfect. It turned out good and very decadent. Thank you for sharing your recipe here with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
not bad, still not like grandmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, Iowa, USA
Living In: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is my husband's favorite pie, so I am always looking for a truly good/easy to make recipe. My search has ended. It wasq quickly made with ingredients already in my kitchen (okay, I didn't make my own pie crust!). And, best of all my husband loved it! Custard smooth, rich, wth just the right amout of sweetness. I did soak my raisins for an hour or so just to plump them up, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This recipe was easy to use and turned out great but I substituted 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg instead of all that nutmeg. I was disappointed with the amount of filling it made. It only filled my crust 1/2 full. It would have been much more impressive with a full crust so the merigue stood up higher. Otherwise it was great! My sisters thought my mother had made it- a huge compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States