Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and the cake turned out picture perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I used this for cupcakes instead of a cake because I didn't have a loaf pan. Thus I reduced the temperature to 350 and the bake time to 30 minutes--very nice! No crust on top, but there was on the sides, and I'm willing to live with that. I think had I cooked them longer I would have dried them out so i guess for cupcakes, you can't have a crust. Great basic recipe, 4 stars because I made adjustments to the ingredients. I decreased the sugar to one cup, added 1 1/2 tsp vanilla, and next time will add lemon zest and lemon juice to add character.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This only just misses the coveted 5 star rating by a whisker. It's a solid starting point. However, it loses a half star because 1) it benefits greatly from the addition of flavoring and 2) the instructions are incorrect. No way around it. The temperature is too high, and the timing too long. Had I baked it at the indicated 375 degrees and left it in for 50 minutes (subtract 10 minutes to compensate for the larger pan I used - read on) the result would have been a dark brown outside, and and a dry inside. It should be baked at 350 degrees. Because I don't have the loaf pan size specified, I used a 9"X5" pan, and 45 minutes resulted in a perfectly baked cake. The texture is spot-on for a pound cake, dense, with a moist, velvety crumb. Excellent keeper, presumably because of the sour cream, which imparts a lovely flavor. I used 1 tsp vanilla, and 1/2 tsp each of orange and lemon extracts. This can be tailored to your tastes. 1-2 tsp vanilla will give you a flavorful plain cake, but you can use any combination you'd like, such as almond, coconut, anise, lemon, rum, maple, orange, or a little of all of them. If you like citrus, fold in 1-2 tsp finely grated zest. Infinitely variable. It's fast and easy to throw together in no time at all. Freezes well, but do not store for more than 4 months tops, double-wrapped in plastic for optimum quality. Looks like a Sarah Lee or Entenmann's cake, with a far superior flavor to either. With these minor modifications, stellar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Wasn't excepting a whole lot from this recipe, but much to my surprise it turned out EXCELLENT! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is a great recipe. Very easy to make and is moist and great for short cake. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla and plan to experment with other flavores. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Wonderfully light with a crisp crust to the top. Easy and simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
My husband and I love this recipe, though we do add 2 tsp of cardamon, and a tsp of vanilla! Very tasty! We've also discovered that you can use greek yogurt in place of the sour cream with the same great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mansfield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made this cake last night and we all loved it! Very MOIST! Absolutely delicious... I follow the recipe but made some adjustments as suggested by some reviewers: I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and I separated the egg yolk from the whites and folded the beat egg whites into the dough at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD_RJ_Atl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
It was alright, I guess. I will not be making it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Fabulous Recipe! I had one similar to this passed down from my mother and I misplaced the recipe. Thank you for sharing this taste just like hers ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States