Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I took another reviewer's suggestion and added a teaspoon each of PURE vanilla and almond extracts. This baked at 350* for just under 70 minutes. I did cover the pound cake halfway through the baking time with foil to prevent the top from burning. This is a delicious pound cake--the flavor that the sour cream adds to this dessert is just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I doubled the recipe, added a pinch of salt & 2 tsp of vanilla, and baked in a Bundt pan. It was a perfect pound cake, moist and buttery. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This is a great recipe as is unchanged! It is especially good when it is still warm from the oven. One loaf gone in minutes at family dinners. I am always asked for this recipe whenever I make it and bring it anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was delicious. I added 1 tsp vanilla and baked at 350 for 1 hour 10 minutes. Came out perfectly, a bit crunchy on the outside and moist on the inside. Served it with strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
bleh...WAY too much sugar. I saw that people said to drop the sugar in the reviews but i didn't listen -.-. It tasted like cornmeal porrige (the rest of my family agreed) which isn't a bad thing, but i thought it would taste something like entenmann's cake or something bases on all the 5 start reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I enjoyed this cake, but have has better. It's still really good and i'de make it again. Especially because I usually have all the ingredients for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This cake came out really moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I made this to use for strawberry shortcake and made no changes. It is very good, however, I found that the edges/top got very dark before the inside cooked. When the inside was cooked, the outside was almost burnt. I'm not sure what that's all about.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Holy salami, call my mommy! This is the best pound cake! After baking it according to the recipe out of respect for the baker, I began adding 1/2 tsp each vanilla and almond extract. Delicious! I have the recipe memorized now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Wonderful cake! I honestly dontt know why some have changed it, its not the same when altered! thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki94

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darlington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lisbon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States