Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Love it! I cut sugar to 1cup and 1 /3 butter but it still came out very good! Super easy as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I made the recipe as written except I baked my cake in a deep 8 inch round cake pan. It only took about 40 minutes to cook. Next time I will bake it at 350. The bottom got just a little more brown than I like. I don't recall ever making a cake without flavoring. Since I often make shortbread without flavoring I tried it. It's perfectly delicious. It has a somewhat "natural", for lack of better term, quality to it without the flavoring. The texture was spot on, dense yet fluffy still. This is the perfect cake to serve with strawberries. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
It doesn't make enough batter for it to bake without burning for an hour as recepie calls. Do not bake for the whole hour...probably 30 min. Or double the recepie. Overall texture and taste were nice except for overcooked shell (icing helped) but I added vanilla and lemon extracts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This recipe was amazing! I used two cups of sugar because I love sweet pound cake. Amazing recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Perfect! Doubled recipe for 2 loaves. Excellent crumb. Added vanilla extract and baked at 350 for just over an hour as per other reviews. This will now replace all of my other pound cake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
good simple recipe with a short list of ingredients and short prep time. what's not to like. good, simple recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Awesome base recipe.. I doubled the recipe and used a bundt (tube) pan; and agree with other reviewers and don't like overly sweet products, so reduced the sugar (2 cups for a double recipe). My other changes were: tsp of vanilla; zest of two lemons, juice of one lemon; 1/4 cup poppy seed as another reviewer has recommended.. Also reduced the heat to 350 as heavier cakes do well with lower temp and a little longer cooking time. Thanks for sharing this wonderful vintage recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made this cake and it was delish. Need to adjust the cooking time and temp for my oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I just made this today and it was a hit. It received a lot of compliments. I added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I shy away from pound cakes because the copious amounts of butter, sugar and eggs scare me, but this pound cake is the exception! It is very moist and has a great texture and taste. The sour cream not only adds richness without too much extra fat, but it also enhances the vanilla which I add in to give the cake more flavour. I reduce the sugar to one cup and to be honest, nobody can tell the difference! My dad says that this cake is professional quality and since it is so easy and delicious, I make it quite often! For a twist, I sometimes add in 1/2 cup of shredded toasted coconut and a 1/4 tsp of coconut extract for a change of pace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States