Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
So, so. Needs some extra flavoring. Its not very moist either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
It was okay. I used vanilla extract but it still came out too sweet. I'd recommend using 3 teaspoons vanilla extract and 1 teaspoon salt. It was just too sweet and not the good kind of sweet. It was sickly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Yum!! Made this along with Simple Strawberry Sauce from the site for dessert. It was so good, the cake was so moist. I added just a little bit of Almond Extract and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Love it! I cut sugar to 1cup and 1 /3 butter but it still came out very good! Super easy as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I made the recipe as written except I baked my cake in a deep 8 inch round cake pan. It only took about 40 minutes to cook. Next time I will bake it at 350. The bottom got just a little more brown than I like. I don't recall ever making a cake without flavoring. Since I often make shortbread without flavoring I tried it. It's perfectly delicious. It has a somewhat "natural", for lack of better term, quality to it without the flavoring. The texture was spot on, dense yet fluffy still. This is the perfect cake to serve with strawberries. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
It doesn't make enough batter for it to bake without burning for an hour as recepie calls. Do not bake for the whole hour...probably 30 min. Or double the recepie. Overall texture and taste were nice except for overcooked shell (icing helped) but I added vanilla and lemon extracts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This recipe was amazing! I used two cups of sugar because I love sweet pound cake. Amazing recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Perfect! Doubled recipe for 2 loaves. Excellent crumb. Added vanilla extract and baked at 350 for just over an hour as per other reviews. This will now replace all of my other pound cake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
good simple recipe with a short list of ingredients and short prep time. what's not to like. good, simple recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Awesome base recipe.. I doubled the recipe and used a bundt (tube) pan; and agree with other reviewers and don't like overly sweet products, so reduced the sugar (2 cups for a double recipe). My other changes were: tsp of vanilla; zest of two lemons, juice of one lemon; 1/4 cup poppy seed as another reviewer has recommended.. Also reduced the heat to 350 as heavier cakes do well with lower temp and a little longer cooking time. Thanks for sharing this wonderful vintage recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States