Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Perfect! Doubled recipe for 2 loaves. Excellent crumb. Added vanilla extract and baked at 350 for just over an hour as per other reviews. This will now replace all of my other pound cake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
good simple recipe with a short list of ingredients and short prep time. what's not to like. good, simple recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Awesome base recipe.. I doubled the recipe and used a bundt (tube) pan; and agree with other reviewers and don't like overly sweet products, so reduced the sugar (2 cups for a double recipe). My other changes were: tsp of vanilla; zest of two lemons, juice of one lemon; 1/4 cup poppy seed as another reviewer has recommended.. Also reduced the heat to 350 as heavier cakes do well with lower temp and a little longer cooking time. Thanks for sharing this wonderful vintage recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made this cake and it was delish. Need to adjust the cooking time and temp for my oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I just made this today and it was a hit. It received a lot of compliments. I added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I shy away from pound cakes because the copious amounts of butter, sugar and eggs scare me, but this pound cake is the exception! It is very moist and has a great texture and taste. The sour cream not only adds richness without too much extra fat, but it also enhances the vanilla which I add in to give the cake more flavour. I reduce the sugar to one cup and to be honest, nobody can tell the difference! My dad says that this cake is professional quality and since it is so easy and delicious, I make it quite often! For a twist, I sometimes add in 1/2 cup of shredded toasted coconut and a 1/4 tsp of coconut extract for a change of pace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Awesome recipe, I've made this pound cake many times now. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I've made this many, many times and I make it, as written. It's my "go to" for stawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This cake was so tender and moist. I followed another user's suggestion and added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and a little extra sour cream. It was excellent. Great flavor and not heavy or dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Made this today exactly like recipe said and it was delicious! Easy to make and will definitely make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States