Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
WOW! Cut back on sugar (3/4 cup), added vanilla and almond extract, baked at 350 and it was ready in 35 mins! Used it for a trifle recipe! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
HEAVENLY !!! moist, delicious, reduced sugar to 1 cup added vanilla extract, perfect with strawberries, blueberries, or just plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Pretty good, not as moist as I would like but here is the problem, it was New Years Eve, I just got back from the grocery store, and wasn't about to make a special trip back for butter. So, I used "butter-flavored" Crisco. It is always my back-up butter. This may have affected the moisture, who knows? Plus, I made mine in mini-bundt cake pans, and set my temp for 325 and for 30 minutes, and I believed it was overbaked, so be forewarned. But, I added some chocolate glaze (which I've never had to add glaze to my pound cake before but felt the need to since it was overbaked), this helped compensate for being too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I make this in a wreath pan for the holidays, and my guests love it. I serve with peppermint ice cream and choclate fondue, yum!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
The flavour was alright. A bit too sweet to my liking. My cake ended up really dense and almost rubbery. Perhaps I overworked the batter...will have to test it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
TIHS TURNED OUT VERY HEAVEY AND I FOLLOWED EVERY STEP OF THE WAY BUT MY HUSBAND ATE IT LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was the best Sour Cream Pound cake I have eaten in a longtime and its quick and can be added to daily meals quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This pound cake was really good and amazingly simple. I added a teaspoon of vanilla as well but otherwise stuck to the recipe. This is an all time fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This pound cake was great! I'll tell you the changes I made. I exchanged 3/4 cup yogurt (plain) for the sour cream, added 1 tbs vanilla to the batter, took 1/3 batter and added 1/3 cup melted chocolate morsels, added the white batter first to the pan and then the chocolate on top. Lastlysprinkled corsely grained white sugar on top. Then baked at 350 for 1 hour 5 minutes! Was beautiful! This recipe is a great one to get creative with! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Wonderful cake very easy. I doubled the recepie and it made a huge cake. I did add some vanilla, just dumped it in about 2 tsp. I just couldn't imagine cake without vanilla kept everything else ture to the recepie. My oven may be hotter than most. I used a Ceramic Bundt Cake Dish. The next time I will use 350 and maybe cook it a little longer the cake looks alot darker in the picture than it actually is. The texture is even and it is very moist. will be great under fruit or plain with coffee. I will make it many more times and have added it as a favorite. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabear

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 111-120 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States