Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Delicious!!! Great and easy recipe. This cake was moist but dense at the same time. Perfect for a trifle cake. Even better the second day:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Super easy and delicious. So yummy my husband gave most of it away so that he wouldn't eat it all (he's always watching his boyish figure). I will definitely be making this often, next time I think I'll double the recipe and maybe do a light glaze even though it really didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Excellent; good texture. Wasn't dry, but I was surprised that it wasn't as moist as I thought it would be. But that could be the baking time; I dropped the oven to 350 since ours errs on the "slightly too warm" side, but it was still a little tanner than I'd like before 60 minutes was up. So, keep an eye on it, the temps and time might be a little off. It didn't completely fill my loaf pan either, but mine might be a little taller than most? The recipe itself is spot-on. I added lemon zest and a teaspoon of lemon extract, and dressed with a lemon glaze later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizmodo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Baked in a star-shaped layer pan for my husband's birthday - cooking time is about half. Start checking at about 30 minutes or when the FABULOUS AROMA fills your kitchen. Like many, I also added vanilla. Simple, superb, and my new favorite cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sreengleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
WOW! Cut back on sugar (3/4 cup), added vanilla and almond extract, baked at 350 and it was ready in 35 mins! Used it for a trifle recipe! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
HEAVENLY !!! moist, delicious, reduced sugar to 1 cup added vanilla extract, perfect with strawberries, blueberries, or just plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Pretty good, not as moist as I would like but here is the problem, it was New Years Eve, I just got back from the grocery store, and wasn't about to make a special trip back for butter. So, I used "butter-flavored" Crisco. It is always my back-up butter. This may have affected the moisture, who knows? Plus, I made mine in mini-bundt cake pans, and set my temp for 325 and for 30 minutes, and I believed it was overbaked, so be forewarned. But, I added some chocolate glaze (which I've never had to add glaze to my pound cake before but felt the need to since it was overbaked), this helped compensate for being too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I make this in a wreath pan for the holidays, and my guests love it. I serve with peppermint ice cream and choclate fondue, yum!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
The flavour was alright. A bit too sweet to my liking. My cake ended up really dense and almost rubbery. Perhaps I overworked the batter...will have to test it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
TIHS TURNED OUT VERY HEAVEY AND I FOLLOWED EVERY STEP OF THE WAY BUT MY HUSBAND ATE IT LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States