Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I had a tub of sour cream left over from a dinner party and didn't want to throw it away so I found this recipe. I did make a few changes but only because I'm lazy and my little boy likes chocolate cake not plain cake so.... I used the same weight of olive oil instead of butter and mixed it all together without having to "cream" anything. Added the full 142ml sour cream and 25g cocoa powder, a sachet of baking powder and a couple of ounces of chocolate chips. It was perfect and the whole family loved it - no one guessed that it had sour cream in it at all. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Senija, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Not only does this cake have wonderful flavor, the texture is perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Indeed the best pound cake. So nice not to have a recipe that works without all the eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
great recipe ,tasty and soft but its better baking at 350 than 375. beside that its easy and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nuno
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
My cake turned out wonderful! Loved it and so did my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is my new favorite go to pound cake recipe! Super easy and foolproof! Delicious! I've made this for friends and they beg for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Mine came out more like Biscotti than a Pound Cake. It barely rised at all and was a little overdone on the outside. Maybe my stoneware bundt pan was too big, maybe I overcooked a little, I'm not sure. I baked at 350 for an hour and it seemed a little overdone and a bit bland. I am going to try out a different recipe next time to test it out, thank you for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I'm the food service officer on board a US Navy warship. We needed to get rid of 10 cases of sour cream before it went bad. I found this recipe and had my sailors make 800 portions. I was a little nervous that increasing it by so much may throw off the chemistry and the recipe would flop. One taste and I knew it would be a hit. The crew LOVED the pound cake. Thanks for a delicious and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Easy and ok. Next time I will try with 2 cups of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Great pound cake !! Served tonight with strawberries and crushed pineapple topped with fresh whipped cream . I added 1 tsp.vanilla and some lemon zest. Cut the sugar down to 1 cup and baked for 45 min at 350. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States