Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This cake is soooooooo good! Very tasty and moist. Amazing. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSECLAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munich, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Delicious cake and easy to make!! I made the following changes- 3/4 cup sugar and added 2 tsp of vanilla extract. Don't overmix and add eggs and butter at room temp. Baked at 350 degrees for just under one hour till beautiful golden brown. I will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Great simple easy recipe. Followed exactly only added a little Almond Extract. My cake was ready after 40 minutes, so just be careful of the cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I altered this recipe, following the guidance of other reviewers (reduced the sugar, added vanilla, soda and powder, and reduced cooking temp of 350 for 1 hour). I only added on t. vanilla and next time I'll double that... I think it would be VERY dull with the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Lower temperature to 350! I wish I'd read all the suggestions before I'd followed the recipe as written because my cake was overdone at only 45 minutes. It was still tasty, but the recipe itself is faulty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Delicious!!! Great and easy recipe. This cake was moist but dense at the same time. Perfect for a trifle cake. Even better the second day:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Super easy and delicious. So yummy my husband gave most of it away so that he wouldn't eat it all (he's always watching his boyish figure). I will definitely be making this often, next time I think I'll double the recipe and maybe do a light glaze even though it really didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Excellent; good texture. Wasn't dry, but I was surprised that it wasn't as moist as I thought it would be. But that could be the baking time; I dropped the oven to 350 since ours errs on the "slightly too warm" side, but it was still a little tanner than I'd like before 60 minutes was up. So, keep an eye on it, the temps and time might be a little off. It didn't completely fill my loaf pan either, but mine might be a little taller than most? The recipe itself is spot-on. I added lemon zest and a teaspoon of lemon extract, and dressed with a lemon glaze later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizmodo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Baked in a star-shaped layer pan for my husband's birthday - cooking time is about half. Start checking at about 30 minutes or when the FABULOUS AROMA fills your kitchen. Like many, I also added vanilla. Simple, superb, and my new favorite cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sreengleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
WOW! Cut back on sugar (3/4 cup), added vanilla and almond extract, baked at 350 and it was ready in 35 mins! Used it for a trifle recipe! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States