Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Wonderful. Followed the directions exactly. Made a great strawberry shortcake. Good toasted with butter on it for breakfast. Will add some vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Hoey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
A VERY easy cake, which turned out nice. I baked it at 325 for 1 hour in a bundt pan. Instead of greasing the pan I used 2 tbsp butter and sprinkled 1/4 cup sugar over the butter, which gave the cake a great candied crust. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla. Overall, a good basic pound cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
delicious! I made this for co-workers who were very happy. 4 stars only because I agree with a lot of reviewers - 375 i think is too hot. My cake started browning at 35mins and at 45 mins I thought it might be done but the middle was still very not cooked. I turned the temp down to 350 and let it cook through. It never burned and actually ended up with a lovely crisp top. Next time I will add lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
perfect pound cake Texture perfect made two loaf pans. Taste great better than the frozen in the store,perfect for my petit fours.And soooooo easy .Loved it thankyou very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
i loved this recipe!!! it was so easiy to make and it was realy tasty...i'm not a big fan of pound cake but when I decided to do Easter dinner at my house, i wanted strawberry shortcake for dessert! poundcake was easiest so that's what was made. I actually forgot the pinch of baking soda in mine and it still turned out wonderful! Thanks again for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULY2501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This was a pretty good pound cake... I did reduce the oven to 325 and baked for 1 hour... I also added a splash of vanilla... Topped with Strawberries and homemade whipped cream... yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklinton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! I made some changes however. I used a stick of Smart Balance buttery spread, 1 cup of light sour cream, and limited the sugar to 1 1/4 cup. I also lowered the heat to 325 during the last 25 minutes. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Phenomenal flavor! I did add 1/2 tsp. of vanilla extract and 1/2 tsp. of butter flavor extract. Will have to adjust the cooking temp/time a bit for my stove next time but I highly recommend this wonderful and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
So easy...and extremely delicious. I did decrease baking temp to 325 degrees and baked for 70 minutes...came out perfectly. This will be my default pound cake recipe! oh...I also added a splash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This is a great pound cake recipe. However, I lowered the baking temp to 325 deg. and baked it exactly 1 hour and 5 minutes. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla. It is the best pound cake I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States