Sour Cream Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I'm giving this five stars for this recipe w/ modifications. I think you will really love this if you try it the way I did! I seasoned the chops w/ s,p, and garlic powder, then dredged in flour seasoned w/ pepper, garlic powder, paprika, and some Emrils all-purpose seasoning....& browned in olive oil. On the stove, I boiled the water w/ one large chicken bouillon cube, then reduced, and added one can of cream of mushroom soup. I wisked together about 4 T flour in some cold water and added it to this saice. I let this simmer a little. Poured over chops and onions in crock pot. Right before it is finished, or even after it is done, then add 8 oz. sour cream and stir around. This was tasty, creamy and great served over wide egg noodles and freshly steamed green beans sprinkled w/ lemon pepper. Hope this review helps someone. I think the blandness some complained of will be alliviated w/ the extra seasonings in the flour mixture and the cr. of mushroom soup!! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
812 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Being that I saw this recipe at the last minute, I couldn't use my slow cooker, so I just browned my chops in my cast iron skillet with the onions, removed the chops just long enough to make a roux, added two cups of chicken broth instead of the water and simmered for forty five minutes. After they were done I again removed them from the skillet and added the sour cream and cooked for a minute. They came out so tender and the sauce was excellent! Good one Ami!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
417 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
absolutly fabulous! Bear with my changes, but I thought they might help someone else! I used 5, two inch thick chops, seasoned with s,p,gp (salt, pepper, garlic powder), THEN I dreged them through highly seasoned flour (just use what you like). I browned them in garlic infused oil. I then browned the onions and put them on top of chops in crock pot. For the sauce, I used 2 cups cx. broth, seasoned with fresh garlic, paprika, s,p,gp, and few other random things, and 1 can cream of mushroom soup. Poured it over chops and cooked on LOW for 5 hours...could have just been 4 hours though. Last, I added sauteed fresh mushrooms and the sour cream after moving chops to oven. I think I should have used only 4 oz. sour cream though. It was perfectly thick and very rich! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This was a HUGE hit with my family. I took heed of the reviews that claimed it was low on flavor and added a few changes. My first change was that I coated the pork chops in roasted garlic and red pepper spice mix and THEN dredeged them in flour and browned them. Then I cut the onions along with some quartered mushrooms and sliced a red pepper. I carmelized all of these in a pan with a little olive oil. YUM. Then I followed the directions exactly except for the end where I noticed the sauce wasn't as thick as I would like. I had no cream of mushroom soup so I threw in some cream cheese. It was thick and flavorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Maybe I shouldn't give this 5 stars, since I changed it so much, but my kids and hubby loved this recipe. I didn't have time for the slow cooker so I did everything in a skillet on top of the stove. I used chicken broth rather than bouillon cubes, and I left out the flour. After simmering for a while, I took off the lid and the sauce thickened up nicely without flour (and since I'm on a low carb diet, it worked better for me). I browned one chopped onion and a can of mushrooms along with the unbreaded breakfast-style boneless chops in the skillet, drained away what little olive oil I used, then mixed the broth and sour cream along with the spices I usually use for pork chops. After simmering for about 25 minutes, I added a splash of balsamic vinegar just to deepen the flavors. There wasn't a drop of this sauce left, or a scrap of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Delicious! The sauce was the best but I did make a few changes. I was crunched for time so just threw the chops, seasonings etc... in the slow cooker without drenching in flour or browning. Later when I made the sauce I just added a little more flour. Didn't really think that extra step was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I have to give this a five star rating, b/c I messed it up and it still came out great! I didnt read the recipe through and started to prepare it at 5pm. Of course, when I got to the crock pot part, I knew I had to change it. I browned the chops as directed and cooked the onions until they were soft. I transfered chops to a glass casserole dish and put onions on each chop. Then I added the bullion/water mixture over all and baked for 30 minutes at 400. After I drained the juice and added to a small pot, stirring in the 2 tbsp of flour and cooking for 5 mins. I poured over chops and my husband thought it was delicious. (he hates sour cream as well but had no idea, like other reviewers families ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
This recipe is definitely a keeper. My entire family loved the tenderness of the chops and the richness of the gravy. After I browned the chops, I poured the water/bullion cube mixture into the pan and stirred up the browned bits. Hate to waste that extra flavor! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Slow cooked these with extra can of cream of mushroom soup and 1/2 # fresh mushroomss,using chicken stock rather than bouillon. Turned out great. I've been trying different chop recipes since my b/f told me he doesn't like them. Will make a believer of him yet! Hey, I lived in IOWA.... This is a start. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: White Salmon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I hate when people make so many changes and then rate the recipe. I didn't change a thing. I made the recipe AS IS and it was a really great quick and easy meal. I served it with rice and my family loved it. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 775) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States