Sour Cream Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This was one of the best dishes I have ever made and I am not a great cook. It was absolutely delicious. I am from Oklahoma, and it really did come out like good old fashioned smothered pork chops. My boyfriend gave me highest marks, saying "these pork chops are on hit!" (that's a good thing) No changes are necessary with this recipe, but I did lower the servings to 4 chops,caramelized the onions in the skillet before adding to the crock pot (although I don't know if that was even necessary since the onions almost completely emulsified during cooking), and used vegetable bouillon vs beef bc that's all I had.Here is a big change I made, I cooked on high for 5 1/2 hours vs on low for 8 to 9 hrs bc I simply didn't have time. Still came out super tender, no knife was necessary! I also poured the crock pot droppings in a sauce pan and made the gravy over the stove with the sour cream and flour, vs in the crock pot - as 1 reviewer said, saves TONS of time, your gravy will be ready in like 4 mins. It was perfectly thick, I did strain it to get the flour lumps out. Use tons of seasoning before browning,it will have great flavor. I also used lean chops which worked well with this dish. I served it with a wild rice and broccoli mix I got from one of those Knorr heat-up "rice sides" bags and a salad. Love the fact that ingredients were simple and all on hand. The only complaint is you end up with tons of dirty pots and pans, which is not normal for a crock pot recipe. But still 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Excellent! My husband loved it. Replaced sour cream with plain fat free Greek yogurt. I had limited time so cooked on high for 2 hours. Next time I will add mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly and loved it. It was not too bland. My only trouble was that the sauce did not thicken as quickly as I needed it to. That was an easy fix. I put it in a pan and brought it to a boil and all was good. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
No changes made to the recipe. Was a very good and simple recipe. Served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
We love this! The meat is so tender. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rpcook
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Very tasty! Pork was so tender, it fell apart. Next time, I will not salt the pork chops as the boullion provides enough in itself. Overall, great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
My husband didn't think this would be a good recipe by just the name alone. But after trying it he LOVED it and wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Allen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I love this site and have used it for years. This is my first and only rating. This is by far the worst thing I've ever made from this site. I followed the recipe to the letter. The pork chops were more than tender, they were mush. Also, I think the mixture of the chicken bouillon with the pork, just didn't mix well for me personally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 794) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States