Sour Cream Poppy Seed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was delicious!! So happy I tried it... I added one t. Almond extract -- love to use that flavor ... Everything else was very much by the recipe. I had xtra large eggs, so I may have used slightly more than four regular, but all was good! I also soaked the poppyseeds in milk for a couple hours before adding. I used a springform pan rather than a bundt -- it took about 45 minutes to bake. I was worried it baked too long, but it came out perfect! I made this for my mom's bday and topped it with a cream cheese frosting that turned out perfect! Might make again this week just to use up the leftover frosting I have!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very nice cake that I will make again. Based on the advice of others, I added a bit of almond extract as well as some orange extract, because I like a strong orange flavor to come through. The next time I make this, I may add some grated orange peel as well. I also added a little food coloring to make the cake a prettier orange color. I only used 1/8 cup of poppy seeds, which seemed plenty. I made a glaze of powdered sugar and orange juice to top it all off, and the cake was even better the next day after sitting in a big puddle of the glaze overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I'm making this right now; & I absolutely love the batter (the sour cream eliminates the 'sweet' taste). I didn't have OJ or poppy seeds to add, so I went w/out those. I did use an 8 oz. container of sour cream-I bought the 'light' by mistake. I also used a package of Duncan Hines Signature Fudge Marble Cake Mix; instead of taking part of the batter to add the chocolate mix to, I added the choc. mix to the whole thing (I know that sounds odd, but then it won't be too chocolatey).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena Lorenzo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This has been a family favorite that my mom used to make! If you want a little bit of a change, it's also super yummy to "flour" your cake pan with cinnamon/sugar mix. No glaze needed if you do it this way! Just an option :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Fantastic!! Moist and flavorful. I followed the recipe exactly and then decided to add a glaze to the top. I mixed 1/4 cup orange juice, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp butter flavoring, poked holes in the cake and drizzled it over the top. It was SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RKelly
Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I add a tsp. of almond extract to the batter, and I glaze the cake with a quick powdered sugar glaze, then press sliced almonds all over the cake. The combination of orange and almond flavors are soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
LOVED IT!!! So yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Wow, this is good, moist cake! I used canola oil, instead of veg. oil. I made a glaze for the top, o.j. and conf. sugar. Kids said "Best cake ever!". There you have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This cake is fabulous. I tweaked it a little. I used 1/2 cup orange liquor or rum and 1/4 cup orange juice, added 1/2 cup chopped pecans. Everyone raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This recipe rocks!! My entire family loves this recipe and it is so easy to make. Very moist and tasty. It appears to look bakery made. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States