Sour Cream Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This turned out to be one of my most successful desserts ever. My lunch guests went into rhapsodies. The only addition was putting it under the broiler for slightly under two minutes, turning it a rich color and partially caramelizing the topping. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Delicious! Refrigerated some till next day and even better with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I haven't eaten this pie yet, but I know already that there is entirely too much butter in the topping. It's cooking into a big dripping (smokey oven!!) greasy mess already.... if it survives the smoked flavor, I'm hoping it will still taste good. Other than the puddles of buttery grease on top, it's still attractive. As long as it doesn't catch fire...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Easy to make and very tasty. Lots of sugar and butter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le Artiste

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winkelman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Absolutely wonderful pie. Better than any apple crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
The main reason I made it was because canned pears had been left at my house, but it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I made this using raw fresh pears so it took awhile longer to bake. Next time I will pre-cook the pears before making the pie. This pie was amazingly delicious. It tasted both light and yet rich, like a fruit pie yet like a cream pie. and I usually prefer a rolled crust but the graham cracker crust was exactly right for this recipe. Everyone LOVED it. Next time I need to bake two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Never had a pear pie before let a lone made one. The pie was amazing! The first bite was refreshing and surprising
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was a really nice recipe! I did make some changes to suit my family better though. First, I added a teaspoon of almond extract to the filling, and I also used fresh, ripe pears in the filling instead of canned ones. I didn't use a graham crust but instead made pie crust using the recipe on the Crisco box, it always turns out for me and delivers a nice, flaky crust. Lastly, I added some oatmeal to the topping. We really liked this pie, and will make it again, it would be quite refreshing in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Im really surprised this is so highly rated. Its not bad, but just not...really anything. I thought the pear flavor was too mild and the topping bland and not sweet enough. Needs something else in the filling to make it have more taste, definitly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States