Sour Cream Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
These were great! The store was out of fresh berries, so I used frozen berries. I also added a tsp of vanillia and part white sugar, part brown sugar. The muffins were so soft and delightful! I rated it four stars because I altered the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I wish I would have read all the reviews before I made these muffins. After 20 minutes of baking we tried one and it was not cooked in the middle and my oven tends to be hot.....I have now put them back in the oven and I guess I will see how they turn out.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
For a low fat muffin, this one is good. If you are fine with fat and want a delicious muffin with great texture, here are my changes: -Replace apple sauce with oil -Replace blueberries with apples -Add 2 tsp Apple Pie spice -I used full fat Sour Cream because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I loved this recipe! I tweaked it a bit though.. Instead of applesauce I used honey. Instead of white sugar I used brown. Instead of regular flour I used half wheat and half flax meal. Also, i used Greek yogurt in place of sour cream. I made it eve healthier than the already low fat recipe. Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
For a healthy version of a muffin, this recipe is pretty great! I needed to use up a very ripe mango so I added approximately 1/3 cup of it diced. Please be aware that I halved the recipe. Most baked goods require some extract so I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla. I also added 1 1/2 teaspoons of allspice and cinnamon. The texture resembled more of a cake than muffin, but it was delicious either way. For those whose fruit sunk to the bottom. Toss the blueberries (or any fruit you choose) in flour prior to folding into batter. I will be making these again when I finally have blueberries on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I followed this recipe pretty closely. Only added 1/2 cup of sugar and used 1/2 cup sour cream (that was all I had) and 1/4 cup of oil to make up the difference. Substituted mini choc chips for blueberries. I did feel this recipe was a little bland. May add a dash of salt or vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very forgiving recipe. I doubled it but kept the sugar at 3/4 cup and increased the amount of blueberries. I also used eggbeaters instead of eggs and added vanilla and cinnamon. I later remembered that I usually add a pinch of salt when baking but didn't miss it at all. Moist and yummy. Will use always!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caroberts77
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I had no problems with this recipe, it turned out golden brown on top and very fluffy & moist inside. I used frozen blackberries as they were what I had and I added about 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to the flour, I also used whole wheat flour but other than that I followed the recipe. Ate 2 of them right away. I'm not sure why other people's turned out uncooked in the middle but I had no issues. Next time I will remember to put the flax seed in and maybe some nutmeg, sounds yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
These were ok... I used homemade applesauce (the slow cooked one from this site) and frozen blueberries. Did everything as directed but kinda ended up with a mess- they fall apart in the middle and are stuck to the paper! I might try these again with some changes but as is this recipe wasn't spectacular, just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I tried this recipe, despite some of the mixed reviews and was quite disappointed. Something doesn't mix right, bake right, turn out right. The tops were done, inside was goo. Didn't enjoy the flavor aside from the rest of the mess. Maybe a test of toothpick inserted as well as when tops spring back would have been a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States