Sour Cream Lemon Pound Cake with Cherry Compote Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This looks terrific. Since it is a lemon cake, I think it would be great with blueberry sauce. For pishposh12, this is a pound cake so the consistency will be denser than a quick bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Disappointing. The pound cake was 1/2 the size I expected. The cherry compote was good. I might make the cherry compote again but with a proven pound cake recipe I usually use. I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
consistency did not work, had to add way more sour cream to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I love this cake. I've made it several times and it has always turned out great - quite moist and dense. I make mine like a sheet cake in a swiss roll tin because I don't have a bundt tin. It's a relatively shallow dish so I keep a close eye on the cooking time because it's cooks more quickly. Definitely a favourite in our house and I've been asked for the recipe by friends who've tasted it. I've never made the compote so can't say what that's like but for a party I drizzled melted chocolate over the cake before I cut it up into squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this last night, adding a little extra lemon everything and a little less flour mixture with 4 tbsp of milk and 4 tsp of lemon pudding mix. THE BEST POUND CAKE I HAVE EVER EATEN. Springy and lemony with the perfect texture. I will definitely be making this again and again. I made mine it two loaf pans and it took A LOT longer to cook than the time on here but the recipe is delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosepine, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Delicious!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Yummy! Easy to make. I served with sweetened strawberries instead of making the compote. The cake is very dense, like a pound cake should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I was so looking forward to this cake. The picture looks so good,. I went out and bought all the ingredients for a double recipe. I don't know what I did wrong. The flavor is good, but the texture is not. It's like a biscuit! I'm sorry, but I'm not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyowen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pampa, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I published this recipe - I prefer to use loaf pans, I have actually never done this in a bundt pan. The cherry compote takes this already amazing pound cake over the top! I store the compote separately and let it cool slightly before I serve. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Mynarich Vanderlaan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States