Sour Cream Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Looks like I'm one of the rare few who opted to make this pie exactly as the recipe is written. So often, as I saw here, it seems one person suggests a rather drastic change and then all others follow suit--and then this changed recipe becomes the recipe being reviewed. I kept all measurements and ingredients as written, only scaling the recipe down to 2 servings as I only wanted to make a nice, little dessert for my husband and me. I found all ingredients and amounts to be dead on, and the custard came together quickly and beautifully. For those having trouble it may just be because they are inexperienced with making custards and could maybe research it a bit to find basic intructions. For those who ARE experienced, this is a beautiful, rich, smooth and creamy lemon custard that couldn't be more simple to make. And now having made it, let me be the voice of dissent who suggests that this recipe is perfect just as written--no changes necessary. I just served the parfaits topped with fresh whipped cream and a few fresh raspberries. Deliciously good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Overall the consistency and texture is wonderful. Due to personal preferences, I found the pie to be lacking in the sour cream and lemon flavor I was looking for. I gave this a four because most people may enjoy this pie, and I enjoyed the texture and consistency, just not the flavor. The second time I made this I increased the lemon zest to 1T, lemon juice to 2/3c, and sour cream to 1 cup and reduced the milk to 1 1/2 cups. Voila! A truly flavorful lemon sour cream pie for those who enjoy lemon and sour cream. Recipes are just road maps for our own creativity. Thanks for providing us with a great road map, Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Found I had to add about 1 and 1/2 TBLS corn starch to thicken this a bit more - I think because I'm at high altitude (5000 feet). Used graham cracker crust - excellent pie - then made the filling again, and served it parfait style, altering with layers of whipped cream, spooning raspberry coulis over the lemon pie filling. Top with whipped cream, 1 perfect raspberry and some mint leaves. This recipe is simply wonderful - everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Beautiful and delicious! I also followed suggestions to decrease milk to 1 & 1/2 cups and increase lemon juice a bit. Had no trouble with it being too runny - be sure you continue to cook for the specified amount of time and you will be fine. Mine got very thick and would probably have been fine with the full amount of milk. I made another lemon pie (Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie from this site) for my husband to take to work because I had slightly burnt the shell on this one (not paying attention), but I should have sent this one; it was MUCH better. Next time, I'd make a double batch. My only gripe: what do I do with the egg whites that are left over? I don't feel inclined to make meringue. :-P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Hi fellow cooks: I pursue Allrecipes because I'm getting family favorites from contributors with different levels of cooking skills from different backgrounds. Look at the great variety we get!! Submitters know that people are either going to accept it as is or modify to their taste. How do we benefit? They review the submission & include any modifications they may have done. Who cares if they read the reviews & follow those or follow the recipe exactly as is then read the reviews?? Either way you choose to proceed is your business & not the place for others to criticize. GOSH I'VE BEEN WANTING TO GET THAT OFF MY CHEST I love this recipe! I have made this numerous times and made the following changes: milk 1 1/2 c, sour cream 1 c, lemon juice 2/3 c, & zest 1T. I've made this a couple of times w/o the zest & compensated w/lemon extract but it was nowhere near as good as when you add the zest. When I tell others about this pie I ltell them the zest is a must. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwrightwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I used some of the suggestions and put 1 1/2 cup milk, 2/3-3/4 cup of lemon juice and 1 cup of sour cream... this was awesome! Tasted just like my favorite pie from the resaurants... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I made this exactly as written, but after tasting I ended up throwing in about double the lemon zest before I poured it into the crust. It tastes wonderful but doesn't hold it's shape well, so I would be hesitant to serve it to guests because it would be a sloppy mess. But if you don't care what it looks like once it's plated it's definitely a keeper. I went back for more after my first piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Excellent! It was so smooth and creamy. I used cornstarch rather than flour because family has gluten allergy. Did not chg anything else. It set up just fine. I used a purchased graham crust to save time. Would like to try it with a vanilla wafer crust. I think I'll use the basic custard recipe for other custard pies as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This is a great recipe. Even my mother who loathes sour cream loved it. I used a cup of sour cream, doubled the lemon juice. Like the prior reviewer said, while your boiling the ingredient you need the batter to be ridiculously thick since the sour cream, butter & juice are going to thin it out. Great presentation after I topped it with whipped cream & a twisted slice of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I made this recipe exact, making no substitutions or changes BUT I did use a homemade graham cracker crust only because a) I don't have time to make a pastry crust or b) I forgot to purchase a pre-made pastry crust when I was at the grocery store. I have to say this is one of the best lemon pies I've ever had. Or one of the best PIES I've ever had, forgetting the lemon part. It's just lovely. My husband, who does not like lemon pies, thought this was just wonderful. I made this yesterday and came home to half of the pie gone and the kids and I had only one small piece each. I loved the custardy filling in this pie. This recipe is a winner. When I've got more time, I'll make sure to try this with a pastry crust so I can see which I like best and then update my review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States