Sour Cream Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
My family said this was even better than Grandma's -- I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
Excellent creamy lemon pie. Nice change from my mother's lemon meringue (I hate meringue). However, next time I will leave out the lemon zest since my entire family kept picking it out of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I hate to be the only negative review here, but this did not turn out at all. My filling didn't thicken up, and there was wya too much for the pie crust. Also, not enough lemon flavor. I froze my pie and it was all right that way, but after it melted it was a sticky mess. Sorry, Michelle! I am, however, up to trying this again and seeing if it was maybe just my fault...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Overall the consistency and texture is wonderful. Due to personal preferences, I found the pie to be lacking in the sour cream and lemon flavor I was looking for. I gave this a four because most people may enjoy this pie, and I enjoyed the texture and consistency, just not the flavor. The second time I made this I increased the lemon zest to 1T, lemon juice to 2/3c, and sour cream to 1 cup and reduced the milk to 1 1/2 cups. Voila! A truly flavorful lemon sour cream pie for those who enjoy lemon and sour cream. Recipes are just road maps for our own creativity. Thanks for providing us with a great road map, Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
This pie is a slamdunk!! The consistency was perfect and the flavor was excellent... not too sweet, not too tart. I topped mine with Cool Whip. I will definently be making this again. Thanks, Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Great recipe. The texture and flavor were perfect - there was definitely enough lemon flavor and I couldn't tell there were bits of lemon zest. I let it sit in the fridge for at least 12 hours. Thanks Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
My husband really likes lemon anything. He really likes this. The thing I like most is no meringue. The only change was used a complete lemon's juice which made about 1/2 cup and the zest from the complete lemon. Wonderful lemon flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Very good recipe and fairly easy to make. My husband also loves lemon. Unfortunately, I didn't have any lemons for the zest, so I think he would've liked it a little more "lemony", but that didn't stop him from eating 2 pieces after dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This is an especially delicious lemon pie. I made a whole wheat crust, then for the filling I followed one of the other reviewers advice and upped the lemon juice ,used more zest and less milk and I added 1 tsp. of lemon extract. For the milk I used soy milk and instead of sugar I used splenda. It turned out wonderfull even with all the low fat and no sugar substitutions.I liked this pie alone ,with no topping. Whipped topping seemed to take away from the pure lemon taste. Definiteley one of the best pies I've ever eaten. Thanks Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States