Sour Cream Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This is a great recipe. Even my mother who loathes sour cream loved it. I used a cup of sour cream, doubled the lemon juice. Like the prior reviewer said, while your boiling the ingredient you need the batter to be ridiculously thick since the sour cream, butter & juice are going to thin it out. Great presentation after I topped it with whipped cream & a twisted slice of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I read reviews so I also dropped the milk down and the lemon juice up. Didn't real like the pie at room temp but couldn't get enough of it refrigerated. I have always had drouble getting a lemon pie to set up. I guess the trick is to make sure it is ridiculously thick prior to adding the lemon juice and butter. I did cut the flour down to 1/4 cup and also used 1/4 cup of cornstarch. I might add a little more sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Beautiful and delicious! I also followed suggestions to decrease milk to 1 & 1/2 cups and increase lemon juice a bit. Had no trouble with it being too runny - be sure you continue to cook for the specified amount of time and you will be fine. Mine got very thick and would probably have been fine with the full amount of milk. I made another lemon pie (Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie from this site) for my husband to take to work because I had slightly burnt the shell on this one (not paying attention), but I should have sent this one; it was MUCH better. Next time, I'd make a double batch. My only gripe: what do I do with the egg whites that are left over? I don't feel inclined to make meringue. :-P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I tried this recipe for a reitrement reception and they were a big success. I didn't do much in the way of changing this recipe except cut back slightly on the milk, then added a bit more lemon juice, zest, and sour cream. Instead of a full-size pie shell I used Athena's Mini Shells and topped with whipped cream. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Wow, Wow, Wow. I'm not the best cook, just ask my husband, but I made this in the morning and it was gone by 9pm. My husband could not get enough of it. The only changes I made were to increase the lemon rind, lemon juice and sour cream and decrease the milk, as suggested by previous people. I also used a graham wafer crust as I prefer them to regular crusts. The sour cream part kind of confused me but it really brings out the lemon and makes it really creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurencelle
Home Town: La Broquerie, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: St. Adolphe, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Very yummy pie and easy enough to make. I'd increased the lemon juice to 3/4 cup and increased the lemon zest to 1 Tbs. but it still wasn't lemony enough for me (just personal preference) so I might increase the zest next time. I'd also substituted some of the sugar with Splenda and you can't even taste the difference. I decreased the milk to 1.5 cups and increased the sour cream to 1 cup (as some reviewers had suggested) and used the cornstarch instead of flour and the pie was still too runny to hold it's shape even after refrigerating it for 24 hrs. I will probably try increasing the cornstarch amount next time. I do love the creamy flavor though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
The only reason that I am giving this a three is because it did not thicken up very well. The taste was very good but it was not very pretty. Will try adding some cornstarch like another reviewer to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
One of my favorite recipes from this site. Per suggestions, I also increased the sour cream, lemon juice & zest and decreased the milk. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I used some of the suggestions and put 1 1/2 cup milk, 2/3-3/4 cup of lemon juice and 1 cup of sour cream... this was awesome! Tasted just like my favorite pie from the resaurants... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
YUMMY! I used vanilla soymilk, extra sour cream, and a fresh lemon, I also didn't have enough eggs (only 2) and It still worked out very good. It was so good, and easy! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States