Sour Cream Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This recipe turned out great! I made it for my husband and parents and they truly enjoyed the recipe. I sent my mom home with the recipe. I took some advice from the other reviews and added a little more lemon juice and sour cream. The consistancy was not as thick as I wanted, but next time I will add a little more flour or a little corn starch (I live at over 5,000 feet so that could have been the problem). Over all great recipe and I can't wait to make it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I have tried making this pie a number of times with the edits other people have recommended (less milk, more sour cream, more lemon), and while the flavor is wonderful, I just cannot get the consistancy right. I've tried turning the heat down low and even using a double-boiler, stirring constantly, but no matter what I do, during the first step of cooking the milk and sugar mixture, big chunks get stuck to the bottom of the saucepan and cook quicker than most of the liquid. So I've never been able to get a nice smooth consistency. Maybe I just need more thorough instructions for the beginning steps... I've made other custards, creme brulee etc, but for some reason this just won't work out for me. That said, the flavor is really really good, and generally the only complaints about texture are not enough to prevent the pie from getting gobbled up quickly. If anyone has suggestions on how to make the pie smoother, I would really appreciate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Double the lemon zest and juice. The hit at our Thanksgiving celebration! Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I sought out this recipe because it is my husbands favorite pie. I made it for Thanksgiving-- 2/3 cup of lemon juice is too much! It was way to tart. I would recommend 1 1/4 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of lemon juice...otherwise it was a nice pie. I did put in the extra sour cream and that made it even more necessary to have the extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I LOVED this recipe, especially with the less milk/more sour cream and lemon adjustments suggested by other reviewers. I made this one "Lemon Pie 1", also from this site for Thanksgiving dinner. The other pie is a quick condensed-milk based recipe. Interestingly, most of my diners preferred the other one, but to me, nothing can compare to the taste of a homemade custard, and this one was easy and delicious! I made it with a graham cracker crust and served it with whipped cream...fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
no one in my family would eat this pie. I tryed it as the recipe stated and with the changes. Either way we did not care for it. Sad because it one of my husbands favorite pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Wonderful. I had to cook the sugar/milk/flour for a looong time to get it to thicken and bubble but it was so worth it. My mom who doesnt even like lemon went back for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Found I had to add about 1 and 1/2 TBLS corn starch to thicken this a bit more - I think because I'm at high altitude (5000 feet). Used graham cracker crust - excellent pie - then made the filling again, and served it parfait style, altering with layers of whipped cream, spooning raspberry coulis over the lemon pie filling. Top with whipped cream, 1 perfect raspberry and some mint leaves. This recipe is simply wonderful - everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This is a great recipe. Even my mother who loathes sour cream loved it. I used a cup of sour cream, doubled the lemon juice. Like the prior reviewer said, while your boiling the ingredient you need the batter to be ridiculously thick since the sour cream, butter & juice are going to thin it out. Great presentation after I topped it with whipped cream & a twisted slice of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I read reviews so I also dropped the milk down and the lemon juice up. Didn't real like the pie at room temp but couldn't get enough of it refrigerated. I have always had drouble getting a lemon pie to set up. I guess the trick is to make sure it is ridiculously thick prior to adding the lemon juice and butter. I did cut the flour down to 1/4 cup and also used 1/4 cup of cornstarch. I might add a little more sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States