Sour Cream Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
We loved this pie! Perfect just the way it's written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Aabsolutely delicious! The custard turned out perfectly just as directed. The trick is to be patient, add the milk slowly not allowing the custard to cool. have the yolks beaten ready to add--Great recipe--will be the Easter pie from now on--Thanks Suzy Q
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I have been looking for a Sour Cream Lemon Pie for about 8 years! It's my husband's favorite pie and he has been talking about it ever since we met! I made the pie exactly as the recipes says and it was delicious! My husband loved it and said it was exactly as he remembered! We give it 2 thumbs up and I am sure I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I followed this recipe to a T and it's great! I do personally like a bit more "lemony-ness" and "sour creamy-ness" though. I loved the consistency and goodness of this pie so much I made it a second time around and added just a 1/4 more lemon juice and a 1/2 cup more sour cream to suit my tastes. This is a perfect recipe and I would eat it again even without my personal changes.(And again, and again...and again!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Strain

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Excellent! It was so smooth and creamy. I used cornstarch rather than flour because family has gluten allergy. Did not chg anything else. It set up just fine. I used a purchased graham crust to save time. Would like to try it with a vanilla wafer crust. I think I'll use the basic custard recipe for other custard pies as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I took the advice to double the sour cream and lemon juice, it set up great and taste good but next time I think I'll cut back a little on the sour cream (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lov2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
SO GOOD!!! You will not be disappointed. I followed directions exactly and topped with cool whip and raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very yummmy! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out terrific. I found it to have plenty lemon and sour cream flavor. I used a graham cracker crust for ease and served it with plenty of whipped cream. I think next time I will also serve some raspberry sauce with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This is an incredible lemon pie! I made it for Father's Day and the dads loved it, what a hit! I did take the other reviewer's advice, I increased the lemon zest to 1T, lemon juice to 1/2c, and sour cream to 1 cup and reduced the milk to 1 1/2 cups. (I even used reduced fat sour cream and no one couldn't tell the difference) It was perfect. Don't pass this one up - it's a keeper! Thanks for all for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Looks like I'm one of the rare few who opted to make this pie exactly as the recipe is written. So often, as I saw here, it seems one person suggests a rather drastic change and then all others follow suit--and then this changed recipe becomes the recipe being reviewed. I kept all measurements and ingredients as written, only scaling the recipe down to 2 servings as I only wanted to make a nice, little dessert for my husband and me. I found all ingredients and amounts to be dead on, and the custard came together quickly and beautifully. For those having trouble it may just be because they are inexperienced with making custards and could maybe research it a bit to find basic intructions. For those who ARE experienced, this is a beautiful, rich, smooth and creamy lemon custard that couldn't be more simple to make. And now having made it, let me be the voice of dissent who suggests that this recipe is perfect just as written--no changes necessary. I just served the parfaits topped with fresh whipped cream and a few fresh raspberries. Deliciously good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
291 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States