Sour Cream Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Nothing better to do with your fresh lemons! I loved this recipe even without the whipping cream on top! Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made the following changes with wonderful results: no flour, but substituted 3 1/2 Tbsp. corn starch; 1/2 cup lemon juice; 1 Tbsp. lemon zest; 1 cup sour cream; 1 cup milk. I combined the milk, lemon juice and egg yolks in separate bowl. I placed the sugar, corn starch, salt and zest in double boiler and then added the milk mixture. Over heat, stir well until thickened; add butter and allow to cool to room temperature. Fold/stir in the sour cream and place in a pre-baked, cooled pie shell. You may top with whipped cream and lemon curls if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buchanan, Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I made this exactly as written, but after tasting I ended up throwing in about double the lemon zest before I poured it into the crust. It tastes wonderful but doesn't hold it's shape well, so I would be hesitant to serve it to guests because it would be a sloppy mess. But if you don't care what it looks like once it's plated it's definitely a keeper. I went back for more after my first piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe received rave reviews from those whose "favorite" pie is Lemon Sour Cream from a local bakery. I doubled the lemon and sour cream as previous reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe was a big hit with me and my family!! The sour cream adds a nice touch and variation to the flavor. I will definitely make it again and plan to double the ingredients for a much bigger pie to serve. Yum...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d_cookinggirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was great! Softer than what I'm used to, but I loved it and so did my roommates. Would probably add more lemon next time, but that's just because I can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Prepared exactly as written. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very good when you increase lemon and decrease milk as other reviewers suggested. Need food coloring if you want a yellow color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by massageldy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I chose to also follow this recipe as written without changes. An excellent choice! This recipe resulted in a creamy, perfectly balanced rich custard pie. It turned out beautiful, I did not have any problems with weepiness, separation or curdling. This will continue to grace my home for any occasion. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oregonmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this pie twice following the revisions. I found that the 1 cup of sour cream was overpowering. Otherwise, wonderful recipe. My husband even enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States