Sour Cream Fan Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Ive made a lot of rolls in my day and I bake bread regular, but this is the best roll recipe I have ever used!!!!! This will be my go to from now on! Don't change a thing! They are perfect! I don't usually rate things but this one I had too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Being a stellar girlfriend takes dedication. In my ongoing efforts I've become addicted to Allrecipes. Not only did Buttery Corn Bread provoke a phone call to his mother earning me brownie points for cooking (score!), I've been able to discover his favorite dish – Easy Pancit. But, my “miracle out of the hat” recipe that saved one night of disappointing Allrecipes experimentation (you know, using those recipes with little to no feedback and crossing your fingers that it will work out), was for Sour Cream Fan Rolls. Not only were they easy to make – I literally globbed chunks of rolled dough together because my first attempts were too small, they were also easy to eat. I ended up with 18 and they were so yummy and fantastic that we ate them all in 2 days. My honey says that they are, so far, the best bread I’ve ever made. High five!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Some things happen by accident. I went shopping and picked up sour cream (500g) instead of cottage cheese. I don't use that much sour cream so I got onto allrecipes and typed in recipes with sour cream. I tried this recipe and could not believe how good the buns were. I have made no changes and can get to 2 large loafs of bread or approx. 20 rolls (approx.98g each). I have been looking for a recipe that was close to the Hutterite Colony buns and this is the one. To make multigrain I use 3 cups or multi grain and 4 of white. I find they are not to heavy. Thankyou very much for posting this recipe. Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I made these using my KitchenAid mixer and they turned out *so* good. I put each roll in a silicone muffin cup and baked for 16 minutes and they turned out absolutely perfect. Delicious rolls! I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
These were amazing. Tender an super light and fluffy. I used 1/2 wheat and 1/2 AP flour, and they were still as light as a cloud. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Very tender and flavorful buns. The shaping is a little fiddly it seems at first, but really, it actually takes no more time than any other shape. I love how these pull apart into little squares ~ perfect for putting a little pat of butter on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
These rolls are delish!!! They are very light and airy. I halved the recipe and after they done baking I basted with alittle oil to make them shiny. They are easy to make. The dough is super easy to work with. I need practice on making them all the same size. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I have made so many rolls and breads, and i think this is one of my new favorites. I was worried about the amount of sugar, but it wasn't overly sweet at all. I also sub margarine for butter with great success. These are so fluffy and reheated very well. I scaled the recipe to 8 and got a dozen rolls out of it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I cut this recipe in half. I used my Kitchen Aid to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast in the mixer bowl with the sugar and warm water for ten minutes, then I added the sour cream, egg and butter, then the dry ingredients. I kneaded this dough with my dough hook for about five minutes (I did have to add more flour to get it into a ball and be able to be kneaded with the hook). I set it to rise for an hour in a large greased bowl covered with a tea towel on a warm heating pad for an hour. To knead it into a ball again, I did need a little more than a 1/4 cup of flour on the counter as the dough was quite wet. I used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to make uniform rolls and rolled them on the counter to make better shaped rolls. I drizzled 1/4 teaspoon of oil over the top of each roll before wrapping it with saran wrap and letting it rise on the warm heating pad for another 45 minutes. I baked them at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. Right out of the oven, I drizzled the rolls again with oil to give them a glossy sheen. Very fluffy, very.....light but quite rich in flavor. I think this would be a stellar base recipe for Herb Rolls or even a really decadent cinnamon roll. Very, very yummy. BAKERY quality and unbelievably easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
These were delicious. They were pretty easy to make and every one at my office Christmas party loved them! The best part is how pretty they looked. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forestville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States