Sour Cream Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This dressing is very good - sweet and tangy! Don't test taste, though, because it DOES get better as it's chilled. Next time, I might use less sugar, or even Equal to lighten it up. I also had to use 2 tsp prepared mustard instead of mustard powder. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I thought this dressing was okay. I used it on a pasta salad I took to work. However the women I worked with gave it rave reviews. I ended up adding a little dried dill because I didn't think it had enough flavor. I split the difference and gave it three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Great, simple recipe. I used it in the Mexican Cornbread Salad recipe by Jose on this site. It was just right in the salad. I did use half the oil and increased the sour cream (reduced fat) to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2000
This dressing was very good with fresh spinach. Just be sure and mix thoroughly, and I would recommend using sparingly. A little goes a long way because it's quite oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I had an abundance of sour cream so typed in "sour cream salad dressing" and found this recipe. Was a little put off by the sugar but since I had all of the ingredients-set about recalculating for 4 servings. I found a great way to eliminate the sugar-use RICE VINEGAR! Also, I had Dijon mustard on hard-use it if you have it! The result was a beautifully creamy-and sufficiently sweet for my taste-dressing. I used it on a pasta vegetable salad and added it to My Recipe Box for future use. I wanted to share the sugar substitute idea for those of you who might be put off by the white sugar ingredient. Oh, I taste-tested too, which is why I knew immediately that this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
Excellent dressing! I added it to the salad before serving and to my surprise, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
this is really good and have been making this for years. when I make cuke salad I replace dill for the parsley. This also makes a really good slaw. I would cut the sugar some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
My husband loved this, but both of us agreed the olive oil was overpowering and should be cut down. Also, I used fat free sour cream, and I found it helpful to let it sit and "thicken" and then whisk until the oil mixed in with the sour cream for a creamy dressing. I think this would make a great coleslaw or pasta salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Was a little skeptical because I don't care for the taste of wine. Didn't have red wine vinegar so I used white vinegar and red wine. Dee-licious. This recipe now lives in my "tried and liked" folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

See an ingenious way to get every last bit of mayo from the jar.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States