Sour Cream Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Great, simple recipe. I used it in the Mexican Cornbread Salad recipe by Jose on this site. It was just right in the salad. I did use half the oil and increased the sour cream (reduced fat) to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Excellent flavor and easy to make. My grandaughters loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
this is really good and have been making this for years. when I make cuke salad I replace dill for the parsley. This also makes a really good slaw. I would cut the sugar some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
Excellent dressing! I added it to the salad before serving and to my surprise, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I follow this recipe as written except for less salt. My friends all love it too. Some ask for the recipe and one even said she WOULD NOT go home without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I thought about a "four star" since I only put in half the sugar, but the flavor was so tasty that I had to give it a "five star". The raw garlic really gives it a bit of a kick which I enjoyed but might be too strong for some. I used it on romaine and tomato salad with a bit of fresh parmesan. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This is our favorite. I cut down on the salt and used 1 Tablespoon of balsamic vinegar and only 4 T of the red wine vinegar. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Was a little skeptical because I don't care for the taste of wine. Didn't have red wine vinegar so I used white vinegar and red wine. Dee-licious. This recipe now lives in my "tried and liked" folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I wanted this for a coleslaw dressing, so I followed it pretty closely, except much less olive oil & a little less sugar. I didn't have any parsley, but I did add some celery seed & some blue poppy seeds. Excellent for coleslaw-I will be making this again. used a no salt substitute & only 1 tsp of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I admit I changed this a little bit - but did keep the spirit of the recipe - but only because I don't like the taste of olive oil - so I used grapeseed oil instead. I also favor dill over parsley - so I made that substitution too. For anyone with guests not wanting alcohol (or ingredients made with or named after alcohol) you can substitute apple cider vinegar in place of the red wine vinegar....I did add a bit more sugar and a bit more sour cream - I wanted it sweeter and for it to have a thicker consistency. It does need to sit overnight - then be whisked again before dressing your salads! This would be great on a broccoli slaw as well!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

See an ingenious way to get every last bit of mayo from the jar.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States