Sour Cream Cutouts Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Amazingly delicious cookies! You definitely need A LOT of flour to roll them out with but if the dough is well chilled it makes the perfect cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This recipe is not good. The dough is far too soft to use for cut-outs (seemed more like a cake dough). Even after adding more flour and nearly burning out the motor of my mixer, the dough wasn't usable. I'm sure they taste nice after being baked, but I couldn't use it for my cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Be sure to add more flour so the dough is not to sticky when you try to roll it out. Other than that these cookies taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yams15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I made these cookies for mothers day and they started dissapearing the moment I took them out of the oven. My brothers and cousin absolutely loved them. If you freeze the dough just to the point where it's a bit tough, but not solid, it rolls out and cuts like a dream. I will definately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Tenazby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Bragg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This is the same recipe that my Grandmother from Reedley, CA always made. The trick is to keep the dough very cold. I, too, roll out just a little of the dough at a time. It helps to put the dough in the freezer for just a couple minutes as you go. Then be careful not to over bake them. A very good tasting, light and soft sugar cookie. Well worth the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassie S.
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe, albeit labor-intensive! I would agree with a previous reviewer that perhaps some folks didn't follow the recipe to the letter. The dough does need a lot of refrigeration. I did the minimum 2 hours, but while making the cookies (with a LOT of flour to prevent sticking), I only pulled a handful of dough out of the bowl at a time. While rolling/forming cookies, I left the remainder of the dough in the fridge. I would disagree with the prep time, as it does require time to roll out dough, form cookies, etc, but it is WELL worth it! I baked them for 11 minutes and they were just perfect, especially with the frosting. I got rave reviews, even from friends who don't normally like sweets! One last point: this recipe makes a lot of dough. I estimated I could've gotten 8 dozen cookies from it. I used about half, made 4 dozen heart cookies, and froze the rest. It's a great recipe that I will use again and again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I grew up making these cookies. To those people who said they were hard to make...you weren't following the instructions. You need to make sure you chill the dough at LEAST 2 hours. THEN use A LOT of flour (but don't use too much because it makes the cookies dry) when cutting out the cookies so they don't stick. I have made these for 26 years without fail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
the flavor was there but they were to much like cake instead of cookie ,not a good cookie dough for cutouts....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This dough is nearly impossible to work with. After finally rolling out and cutting 10 cookies I gave up and put the rest in a 9 inch cake pan. It turned out okay but I will never make these again. The taste is good but there are so many better things that are less trouble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Great recipe! This is exactly like the Christmas cookies my family makes. I needed to use a lot more flour to roll out the dough though. I also like substituting almond for the vanilla in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bochum, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States