Sour Cream, Cucumber and Dill Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was a great light and refrshing dip. I served with traditional gyro meat from this site and thought it was great. Made no changes whatsoever. It did make a lot though! Next time I will probably cut in half. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
It's OK; but it is just an Americanized version of the Greek Tzatziki - which uses Greek Yogurt, cucumber (Peeled, seeded and finely chopped), garlic, dill, and a tad of XVOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This recipe is almost identical to a salad that my husband grew up with in Germany. He uses dried dill and slices the cucumbers. We eat it often with fish and mashed potatoes. I had never thought of making a dip out of it - but that's a great way to provide that fresh flavor we love in different way. Just a tip - to drain the water from the cucumbers so they don't make the salad or dip watery - my husband sprinkles the cucumbers with quite a bit of salt and leaves it to pull the water out. Then drain the water off (I usually just put them in a colander to start and sit it over the sink). I'm not sure about the salt getting off of the shredded cucumbers, but it pretty much leaves with the cucumber juice so the cucumbers don't end up being too salty - just skip the salt in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This is delicious for sure & Perfect for summer. I added freshly ground pepper and garlic powder and also used sea salt. Don't skimp on the lemon juice, it adds such a nice *zing* I took another's advice to squeeze the shredded (unpeeled) cucumber between paper towels and this worked perfectly to keep it from getting too runny. I served this with carrots, celery and cucumber slices. Yummy!! I'll make this often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Delicious. Extremely refreshing! I think this would be great with pita chips and maybe carrots and cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This stuff is awesome. I love dill and cucumber, and this is another great recipe with the two. I'm not sure we have chips anywhere, so I just tried it with bread cubes. Very good! I think I added a bit more lemon than called for--it's a bit lemony--but it's still wonderful. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I love this recipe with garlic. Add one clove of pressed garlic for each 16 oz of sour cream. Or more if you are a garlic lover like I am.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Nothing spectacular but fresh tasting. Tastes like tzitiki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This recipe is so easy and quick! It's ready in about 10 minutes and tastes better the longer it sits in the refrigerator. It's great with veggies or chips and goes well as a dill sauce with asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
The only good thing about this recipe is that it made my fridge smell like dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States