Sour Cream Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
These are a great cookie both for those who prefer a less-sweet version (as-is), and for those who like sweet (iced with Icing for Sour Cream Cookies on this site). I agree that they are almost like little scones (not a moist cookie, and they don't spread). I found that they cooked in much less time than noted - my oven temp is accurate, and 13 minutes was plenty, so watch carefully. Love that they're packed full of nuts, and I used golden raisins in my version - a little more subtle flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. I baked these for a party and the cookies were a hit! The icing recipe for these cookies is excellent,too! Thank you, Celeste for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I baked several kinds of cookies this year and these were by far the easiest to prepare and the best tasting, be sure to use the sour cream icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
These are easy to prepare and very tasty. I do wonder about the one teaspoon size cookies, however. I used my 1 Tablespoon cookie scoop and made 50 cookies. They baked in about 18 minutes at 350 (my oven is accurate). Instead of greasing the cookie sheet, try using parchment paper. Just throw it out when finished and clean-up is a snap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I mistakenly bought light sour cream and the cookies turned out fine. Wouldn't know I used the light in them. I made the first turn plain because I was afraid they wouldn't be any good and didn't want to waste my pecans and raisins. Hubby said to add the rest as the cookies were fine. So the last few batches we had pecans and raisins in them and used the icing that goes with the cookies. Thought the icing would be too sweet as I didn't even use all the sugar in it but because the cookies aren't sweet, the icing went well with them, though we used it sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
My family has been making these for Christmas for over 40 years. They are always a crowd pleaser, and even the naysayers who dont like sour cream love them. They freeze well too. We have never iced ours though, will have to try that and we have never added nuts or raisins. I am not sure why, as it sounds delightful, but almost always add a bit of extra sugar and vanilla, as I like mine sweeter. The lumpy shape is a nice contrast to the typical "Cut out" cookie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I have made these cookies for Christmas and I know that I will be making these at any time of the year! These are a wonderful little cookie. Not to sweet but very moist. They turned out to be a favorite! Instead of using the icing, I chopped walnuts, and mixed them with sugar and cinnamon and put them on top before baking, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
These were inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Photo by ChanaLeah
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Yum-yum, five stars! They are kind of like a scone, as another reviewer said but that's fine they go great with a cup of coffee! And the Icing for Sour Cream Cookies from this site really makes the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Sure to be a keeper! unusual and very good sour cream cookies, baked up nicely and are great even without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States