Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Drizzled melted butter/cinnamon mixture of top and baked to a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pandora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Good, basic recipe. Easy. A classic coffeecake. Buttermilk can be subbed for the sour cream, with slight adjustment to the liquid/dry proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon Lynn Landrem
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This was the last of four coffee cake I made today. I was pleasently pleased this is the second best of the four. I though in a little more sour cream cause the batter seemed thick and it worked out great. I really did not like any of the appearences but I think that is because I used through away pans. I'm taking them to a breakfast. we will see which one goes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Lynn Landrem

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
The Good: The batter baked nice and fluffy. Just the right consistency. My boyfriend loved it and kept asking for seconds. Overall a good, basic coffee cake recipe. The Bad: I would double the topping ingredients in here. There wasn't enough when you split it up to give it the crumbly texture on top people love in coffee cake. Also, it was a wee bit bland all together and I would suggest adding a few teaspoons of cinnamon to the batter mix to give it a little extra something. I would also like to add that I made this without pecans because a) I didn't have any, and b) I was making this for a group and some have nut allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
REALLY good...added chopped fresh strawberries and frozen peaches to the center 'filling' - everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I thought this was a great recipe - easy to make and it smelled delicious while baking. I did put in a 7 x 11 pan and it filled it perfectly. Next time I make I will probably put more than half the batter on the bottom so the cinnamon middle layers more through the top third of the cake rather than towards the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This is pretty much the recipe I use except I substitute home made yogurt for sour cream and add a snack pack size of apple sauce There really is no need for gobs of butter and sugar like other recipes have
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is a quick and delicious coffee cake - all gone jut ten minutes after it comes out the oven. The batter was thick and I had to spread - not pour it - into the pan. It made a thin layer so I mad a crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soupwhistle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This is a good basic recipe for sour cream coffee cake. With a few changes it can be a great coffee cake. After combining the flour with the wet ingredients, beat for 5 minutes. This makes the texture of the cake smoother. I also don't like nuts so I stir in a cup of chocolate chips instead of the cinnamon and nut filling. I bake it in a Bundt pan for 50 minutes. When completly cool, I dust it with confectioners sugar. This is the cake that my family requests for birthdays with the exception of the granddaughter that asks for cheese cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
10 Stars!! Excellent, excellent recipe. I agree w/other reviewers that a 9x13-inch pan seemed too large, and that the batter was very thick and hard to spread (especially the top layer), but I followed the recipe exactly as written (except for the baking time) and the cake came out perfect. It was very moist and delicious. Some reviewers said the cake was dry, which might be because they over-baked it; 40 minutes is probably way too long. My cake was done in only 30 minutes. My mom used to make a similar cake using a box cake mix, but I think this recipe is much, much better. I avoid using box mixes, because I don't like that box-mix taste. I'm sure I'll make this recipe often. It's fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States