Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I loved this coffee cake! It was delicious. I really liked the chopped pecans in the brown sugar topping. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I have been using this exact recipe for years. It is a favorite. The batter is quite thick. After spreading the first layer of batter in the pan and adding half the the sugar mixture, I drop the remaining batter in small dollops on top using a teaspoon. I don't try to smooth it out. Then I sprinkle on the remaining sugar mixture. This works well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Excellent and easy! The batter seems thick, but it cooks up light and fluffy. My family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This worked well in a 9 x 9 pan. It's just plain delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
The batter is a little thick, but it came out very moist and delicious -- I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This recipe was fast and easy! Perfect the first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Barnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Center, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This coffee cake recipe is another example of "less is more" and "the simpler the better." This is a classic, no frills recipe that, because of the sour cream and butter, I knew would be likable before I even tried it. Still, I wanted to play around with it, so I sandwiched a can of peach pie filling in between the layers, keeping everything else the same, and it was just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This is a brilliant coffee cake. I used whole wheat flour instead of white. I also use 1/3 to 1/2 cup of honey instead of the sugar, and decreased the amount of sour cream to make up for the increased moistness from the honey. The topping is too sweet for my family's taste, so I create replace the sugars with a smaller amount of honey or maple and use flour to make the mixture crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This recipe is AWESOME! Ive made this a few times for breakfast/brunch get togethers but I leave out the pecans because I am alleric to them. I have also used apple pir filling and spread it on top of the cinnamon sugar filling before spreading the remaining cake on top. It is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gasport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Very moist and delicious. Doubled the topping and used walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States