Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I have been using this exact recipe for years. It is a favorite. The batter is quite thick. After spreading the first layer of batter in the pan and adding half the the sugar mixture, I drop the remaining batter in small dollops on top using a teaspoon. I don't try to smooth it out. Then I sprinkle on the remaining sugar mixture. This works well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This coffee cake recipe is another example of "less is more" and "the simpler the better." This is a classic, no frills recipe that, because of the sour cream and butter, I knew would be likable before I even tried it. Still, I wanted to play around with it, so I sandwiched a can of peach pie filling in between the layers, keeping everything else the same, and it was just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I gave this 5 stars WITH the changes suggested by others plus a few of my own: I doubled the topping; baked in an 8X11 pan; added sliced apples in center with topping. I didn't like that the topping was so dry so I ended up drizzling with 3 T melted butter after it started baking. Very moist and delicious -- great texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
What a great and simple recipe! I have found this to be very versatile - I have successfully added 1 cup of either frozen berries, frozen diced peaches, or chocolate chips without ruining the texture or taste of the coffee cake. However, it is great when plain too! This is definitely my favorite coffee cake recipe, as I can always slightly modify or add something to it and still end up with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I used a small pan and layered in thin slices of gala apples prior to putting the filling/topping in the middle. Also, just a note...this is a THICK batter, so don't be worried about that. I thought I'd messed it up totally. Also, I used 1/2 white flour and 1/2 wheat flour and it was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This is a good basic coffee cake. The top layer was a little "fiddly", but using the technique that the prior reviewer recommends, it worked well. (I did smooth mine out the best I could on top before adding the sugar topping). The baking time was perfect for my oven. The guys at my husband's office devoured it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made this almost exactly as written (the only suggestion I took was to drizzle butter over the top before baking)--it is FANTASTIC! Moist, not too sweet and very flavorful. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Smithfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This recipe is AWESOME! Ive made this a few times for breakfast/brunch get togethers but I leave out the pecans because I am alleric to them. I have also used apple pir filling and spread it on top of the cinnamon sugar filling before spreading the remaining cake on top. It is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gasport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Good recipe. However, I think a 13x9 pan is too big. Next time I will make it in a 7x11. And I agree with the person who said to put more than 1/2 in the middle. I think it would be better to put all of it in the middle. The top was too dry. The only way I changed the recipe was to use 1 cup spelt flour to replace 1 cup of all-purpose flour. That worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I loved this coffee cake! It was delicious. I really liked the chopped pecans in the brown sugar topping. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States