Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I loved this coffee cake! It was delicious. I really liked the chopped pecans in the brown sugar topping. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Excellent and easy! The batter seems thick, but it cooks up light and fluffy. My family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I have been using this exact recipe for years. It is a favorite. The batter is quite thick. After spreading the first layer of batter in the pan and adding half the the sugar mixture, I drop the remaining batter in small dollops on top using a teaspoon. I don't try to smooth it out. Then I sprinkle on the remaining sugar mixture. This works well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This is a good basic coffee cake. The top layer was a little "fiddly", but using the technique that the prior reviewer recommends, it worked well. (I did smooth mine out the best I could on top before adding the sugar topping). The baking time was perfect for my oven. The guys at my husband's office devoured it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
The batter is a little thick, but it came out very moist and delicious -- I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I used fat free sour cream and walnuts instead of pecans and it turned out really well. I wasn't sure if it would since the batter was so thick and sticky. It was very hard to spread into the pan ('pour' is definitely not the word for it). very moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMEE16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This is a brilliant coffee cake. I used whole wheat flour instead of white. I also use 1/3 to 1/2 cup of honey instead of the sugar, and decreased the amount of sour cream to make up for the increased moistness from the honey. The topping is too sweet for my family's taste, so I create replace the sugars with a smaller amount of honey or maple and use flour to make the mixture crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This worked well in a 9 x 9 pan. It's just plain delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Yummy! I mixed in some melted butter to the streusel mixture before sprinkling it on so it would be nice and moist. The family's been eating it all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tapring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This recipe was fast and easy! Perfect the first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States