Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
yummy...i did add blueberries and add a vanilla glaze i baked in a bundt pan..this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
My family and the neighborhood family enjoyed this cake a lot. I did follow the advice of several others--used smaller pan and added blueberries--made for a very yummy dessert. The cake stayed moist. Next time I will either change the topping or put it all in the middle like previously mentioned, it was yummy in the middle but sort of dull on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I ended up adding a couple of tablespoons of milk because the batter was too thick to spread over the filling. My boyfriend just had 4 pieces, and says it's better than the last recipe I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
What a great and simple recipe! I have found this to be very versatile - I have successfully added 1 cup of either frozen berries, frozen diced peaches, or chocolate chips without ruining the texture or taste of the coffee cake. However, it is great when plain too! This is definitely my favorite coffee cake recipe, as I can always slightly modify or add something to it and still end up with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Very moist and it had a good flavor. I've had other coffee cakes that have a bit more flavor, though, so I'm only giving it 4 stars. I would make this one again, even though it's not my all-time favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I gave this 5 stars WITH the changes suggested by others plus a few of my own: I doubled the topping; baked in an 8X11 pan; added sliced apples in center with topping. I didn't like that the topping was so dry so I ended up drizzling with 3 T melted butter after it started baking. Very moist and delicious -- great texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I followed recipe to the 't' and no way can you pour it in the pan. You have to spoon it in, try to flatten it in the pan, and then put the filling in and when you put the other half of batter in it pulls up all the filling. Very bad recipe. You will be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Great recipe! A few changes I made; I tried using whole wheat flour for half of the flour called for, turned out really well, still really moist. Also, I used loaf pans ( one recipe fills a large loaf pan or two small) so baking time was increased by 15-20 minutes. And the most important change; put 3/4 of the cinnamon sugar in the middle layer. This one's going in my recipe binder!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherieberry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Very basic but good and easy. I used a dinner knife to spread the batter in the pan - otherwise is can be hard to get it spread evenly. Don't bother using low fat ingredients. It just won't be worth it - have a smaller slice of the real thing. I am however, thinking of modifying this for my toddler. (He needs the calories but needs to be nutritious.) Using whole milk plain yogurt instead of sour cream and whole wheat pastry flour (or white whole wheat flour from king arthur) and adding a bit of wheat germ to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I made this cake and everybody Loved it!!! I used roasted sweet peanuts instead of pecan and it was good! First time I tried something new and it worked :)I am so glad!!! thx!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sushama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States