Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is a GREAT recipe as-is. I wanted a thicker coffee cake so I baked it in a 9x9 pan. I thought it was going to bake over but it didn't. It went right to the top though. I had to bake it for 50 minutes. BUT... The cake is moist and delicious. My topping did not melt and look like the one in the picture. I think if I add a little butter in there next time it will help it to melt like the picture. This is a wonderful recipe that I can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jereme David

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
i add 1/4 cup of butter to the topping/streusel ......i put a little in the bottom of a bunt/tube pan then layer the batter, then the streuesel then more batter...it comes out quite nice...with a little streusel on top...then i drizzle a mix of milk or water, vanilla, and powdered sugar over the whole cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Definitely did not fill a 9X13 pan (or it did after it was baked, but made it very hard to spread 2 layers). Did not care much for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Montana
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Simply delicious. A good basic coffee cake. I used creme fraiche instead of sour cream ( can't find it in France). I cut down the sugar & added some chocolate chips in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
The cake is good but a tad dry which suprised me because of the sour cream. It's a little difficult to divide the batter in half with a 9 x 13 inch pan but I made it work. The second layer of batter is the most difficult to spread, I just continued to dip a rubber spatula in water while spreading to keep the batter from sticking and pulling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Illinois, USA
Living In: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding a layer of diced Granny Smith apples, and some granola to the topping, just because I had some. It was a fantastic apple coffee cake. I'm going to try it again using other fruits. My boyfriend said "This could be the best thing you've ever made!" **I made this again and used fat free plain yogurt instead of sour cream, since I was out of the sour cream, and I have to say... I liked it better! The crumb was softer and it wasn't as thick so it was easier to spread in the pan, and didn't stick to the apples and pull them up with I spread it over them! So if the batter is too thick for you, try fat-free plain yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Yummy! I love the crunchy topping it has like real coffee cake. I have made this a couple of times and found that yogurt works really well in place of the sour cream. I had peach on hand and it gave it a nice fruity sweetness without being over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veedubgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Moist and tasty coffee cake. I followed the recipe but added white and milk chocolate chips in the middle layer with 1/2 of the topping. Next time I will use fruit in the middle as some other reviewers did. The batter is thick and once you add the middle layer, it is a little difficult to spread the rest of the topping evenly but it doesn't have to be perfect. It is a good base recipe that can be tweaked and still taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
There is no way you can pour this coffee cake into the pan. It is far to thick. Is there a liquid ingredient missing in the recipe. I have tried it twice and both times struggled to get two layers into the pan. Something has to be missing in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This cake was absolutely moist and delicious!!! I used whole wheat flour and added some crushed pineapples I had in the frige on top of the cake before I sprinkle the rest of the topping on. I did bake it in a 8x8 pan, so I had to cook it an extra 15 mins. It came out great. Will definitely bake this again, maybe next time I will try a different fruit topping. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States