Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Excellent! Moist & flavorful. Great with tea or coffee. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Have made many versions of this cake and often substitute full fat yoghurt for the sour cream - it works just fine. I like the suggestion of putting sliced apples on top and certaily a 9 x 13 pan is too big. You can also change the flavor by using lemon or orange rind and any other flavoring you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This is a great, simple recipe that results in a great cake. I agree with others about the batter being very thick. I used a trick my grandma taught me when I was little...when spreading sticky or thick batters, wet the back of your spatula with cold water and spread. Continue wetting until the mixture is spread evenly. It worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Other than the batter being too thick to work with easily, this is a delicious cake....maybe I'll try making muffins next time with the same recipe. Thanks for sharing this with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
What a lovely cake - I was so impressed. I was going to bake it in a bundt pan but went with 8 x 12 instead. I added 1/2 tsp each cinnamon and nutmeg and 1 cup frozen blueberries. It was thick to spread in the pan but I did manage without busting all the berries. I did change the topping to 1/4 c. sugar, 1/3 c. br sugar, 1-1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/3 c. flour, 1/4 c. margarine - no nuts (but would be fabulous). It took longer to bake but was well worth it. Moist and delicious and lovely presentation. Oh, I didn't put any of the topping between the batter, just on top and I was glad I did it that way. Thank you for a great recipe to compliment our Easter with family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Flavorwise, this is an excellent coffee cake. But like other reviewers, I had a tough time spreading the batter into such a large pan - the bottom layer was barely 1/2" thick and trying to spread the top layer was frustrating. If it was a pourable batter, it would have worked, but this is a very thick batter. So, I gave up and just scraped the whole thing into a 9 x 9 pan, and topped with the remaining topping. Smells and tastes delicious, and because it was thicker took a good 50 minutes to bake. I omitted the nuts this time. Next time I think I would also press in some butter and flour to the crumb mixture to make it more of a streusel. All in all, my only issue was the size of the baking dish recommended. Other than that it's very nice, moist, flavorful coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This cake was so simple and it tasted delicious! The only thing I made different was the topping. In addition to the ingredients called, I also added 1/4 cup of butter and 1/3 cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
YUM! I have made this several times now and it always turns out great! The nuts are a nice touch and I am not usually a nut fan. Basic ingredients but seems to taste great and is very consistent. This is my go to for coffee cake now and I am deleting all others. YOU SHOULD TOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
moist, decent coffee cake. The top is a little crunchy, would probably be better with butter mixed in with the sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I'll give more, but I had to add milk to make it less dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States