Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Excellent! Moist & flavorful. Great with tea or coffee. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Have made many versions of this cake and often substitute full fat yoghurt for the sour cream - it works just fine. I like the suggestion of putting sliced apples on top and certaily a 9 x 13 pan is too big. You can also change the flavor by using lemon or orange rind and any other flavoring you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This is a great, simple recipe that results in a great cake. I agree with others about the batter being very thick. I used a trick my grandma taught me when I was little...when spreading sticky or thick batters, wet the back of your spatula with cold water and spread. Continue wetting until the mixture is spread evenly. It worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Other than the batter being too thick to work with easily, this is a delicious cake....maybe I'll try making muffins next time with the same recipe. Thanks for sharing this with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
What a lovely cake - I was so impressed. I was going to bake it in a bundt pan but went with 8 x 12 instead. I added 1/2 tsp each cinnamon and nutmeg and 1 cup frozen blueberries. It was thick to spread in the pan but I did manage without busting all the berries. I did change the topping to 1/4 c. sugar, 1/3 c. br sugar, 1-1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/3 c. flour, 1/4 c. margarine - no nuts (but would be fabulous). It took longer to bake but was well worth it. Moist and delicious and lovely presentation. Oh, I didn't put any of the topping between the batter, just on top and I was glad I did it that way. Thank you for a great recipe to compliment our Easter with family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Flavorwise, this is an excellent coffee cake. But like other reviewers, I had a tough time spreading the batter into such a large pan - the bottom layer was barely 1/2" thick and trying to spread the top layer was frustrating. If it was a pourable batter, it would have worked, but this is a very thick batter. So, I gave up and just scraped the whole thing into a 9 x 9 pan, and topped with the remaining topping. Smells and tastes delicious, and because it was thicker took a good 50 minutes to bake. I omitted the nuts this time. Next time I think I would also press in some butter and flour to the crumb mixture to make it more of a streusel. All in all, my only issue was the size of the baking dish recommended. Other than that it's very nice, moist, flavorful coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This cake was so simple and it tasted delicious! The only thing I made different was the topping. In addition to the ingredients called, I also added 1/4 cup of butter and 1/3 cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
YUM! I have made this several times now and it always turns out great! The nuts are a nice touch and I am not usually a nut fan. Basic ingredients but seems to taste great and is very consistent. This is my go to for coffee cake now and I am deleting all others. YOU SHOULD TOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
moist, decent coffee cake. The top is a little crunchy, would probably be better with butter mixed in with the sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I'll give more, but I had to add milk to make it less dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States