Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I personally liked this recipe, however I did add my own personal flare to it. Instead of an entire cup of sour cream I cut that down to 1/2 and substituted the other half with low fat Miracle Whip. Also in my batter I added 1 tsp of nutmeg and with my topping sprinkled toasted almonds on top. The cake came out delicious ... I dont know if its still even the same cake anymore but still it was great with a cup of joe and did incorporate sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeterBariexca
Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Made this for a coffee morning. It was easy and turned out fab! It was the first cake I ever baked in my AGA. Better than the box mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Awesome coffee cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Great recipe! I modified a bit: I added 1/2 cup of half and half, then to the topping I added 3 T butter, 3 T flour, and instead of chopped pecans I used 1/4 c almond meal. Delicious! Definitely a make-it-again recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whole_foods_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Pretty good. I usually use the Krustz coffee cake mix, but hadn't had a change to run to the store, so I tried this recipe out. I followed the directions exactly (minus the nuts since i didn't have them) but decreased the baking time to 35 min. as I noted that many people felt it was dry. It was pretty good - not enough topping as written, and because of the pan size it is kind of thin. I like the box mix better, but this worked for today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Solid recipe; I added a tsp. of cinnamon into the flour mixture. I also doubled the amount of "topping" (as some others have said, and becomes quite candy-like), and added a full tablespoon of cinnamon. With the actual topping half of the mixture I stirred in 3 tablespoons of melted butter; this kept the top coating moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoachMan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Delicious! Has an extremely light and fluffy texture. I halved the recipe and made it in a loaf pan. I also added half an apple, peeled and very thinly sliced, to the middle layer. Great recipe, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Followed directions exactly. Came out very dry. Will not make again. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I absolutely love this coffee cake and so does everyone I have made it for. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy R

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Paullina, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Delicious! I followed the recipie exactly and the result was perfect. It was a tad on the dry side though which was my fault. I was blow drying my hair and didn't hear the timer beebing. Can't wait to make this again. This time I may try adding a bit of butter to the topping although it's perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sisternumber4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States