Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Great recipe. I had leftover pumpkin puree and substituted it for the sourcream. So moist and delicious. I actually got pulled-over with this in my truck and when I rolled my window down the officer asked what that wonderful smell was!! He only gave me a warning :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Julian, California, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This coffee cake was beautiful. We absolutely loved it. Didn't modify the ingredients and followed the instructions exactly. Since it's just the two of us, I halved the recipe and baked in an 8x8 glass pan and that worked out great. The cake was so perfectly light, moist, and spongey with the perfect amount of sweetness & flavor. Thank you for the simple, quick, and fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I put this in an 8x11 pyrex, followed the recipe exactly and it came out very delicious !! yum..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Amazing flavor and texture! I used two bread pans, and it worked really well baking for just 35 minutes. I used the topping from a different recipe (1/3 c flour, 1/2 c brn sugar, 2T melted butter) and it worked great. The hard part was getting it to spread in the pan and then spreading the second layer over the crumble topping. It was so thick and sticky, it was really challenging! But the end result was well worth it. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made this almost exactly as written (the only suggestion I took was to drizzle butter over the top before baking)--it is FANTASTIC! Moist, not too sweet and very flavorful. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Smithfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
this is sooo good. i have shared this several time and they all have wanted the recipe. dont change a thing, perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
The basic recipe is fantastic. It does need more topping though. I have make this a couple time adding canned peaches, frozen blueberries, or jam and it works out perfectly. I've also used yogurt instead of the sour cream and it works just as well or better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING coffee cake. Succulent, sweet, fluffy, and scrumptious, this cake leaves nothing to be desired. Following a previous reviewer's suggestion, I doubled the topping, and sliced 1 large apple into thin slices, layering them between the two cake layers. I even made a second cake after tasting the first; I've found my coffee cake recipe for when I have sweet cravings!! Thanks so much for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by future_chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
It only lasted a few hours..will make over and over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslove

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was sooooo scrumdillyumcious! My husband and 4 year old LOVED it, especially the sugary part :P Aurora kept saying, "It's sooooo soft!" as she mooshed it between her fingers. haha The first layer of batter was really thin, so I wasn't able to have much of a top layer of batter. I put almost all the topping on, then glopped about a dozen balls of batter on top, then put the remainder of the sugar mixture on top. I also drizzled a little melted butter around on top, which I would probably add even more next time. My husband made the brown sugar himself by combining molasses with sugar, which gave it a FABULOUS flavor. The topping, being almost completely on top, wasn't too crumbly, it was soooo delicious. Also, I used half white flour and half wheat flour, and it only needed to be cooked for 35 minutes. I can't say enough how much my whole family loved it! I'm going to make this cake often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States