Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I love this recipe!! I used plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream, it was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Long story short, very tasty. Unaltered, it very well may deserve 5 stars. Unfortunately, I didn't have regular flour, so I used cake flour instead. I also only had about half the required sour cream, so I added 1/2 a cup of yoghurt. Finally, I only had a 9x9 baking pan, so I made do with that (surprisingly made it all fit...). Took more like 55 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This is my third time making this coffee cake, the first time, I followed the directions exactly, but when I got to the last step of adding half the topping, it didn't cover the 8.5 x 11 inch pan at all like the photo. I mixed up another batch of the sugar topping and added about half to fully cover the cake. Unfortunately, the cake was too sweet. I tend to agree with other reviews that 9 x 13 would be WAY too big for this recipe. Second time, I used a bundt pan, and did half the batter, 1/2 of the topping, then added 1 tsp. of flour and maybe a tbsp. melted butter to the remaining topping to make it more streusel-like. Much better, but still not as thick as I prefer budnt cake to be. Third time, I did the recipe x .5 (instead of 1/2 c butter, did 3/4 c., 1.5 c. sugar, 1.5 c. sour cream, etc.) although I kept it at 2 eggs. Did the topping as I mentioned above (half dry, the top half with some flour and melted butter) and it was perfect! This filling is so good! The topping is great, but I dislike too much sweetness, and the one and a half recipe for the filling is perfect in a large budnt pan. I gave 5 stars for the excellence of the sour cream coffee cake recipe, the topping needed a bit of a tweak, but with the proper pan and the addition of some melted butter and flour (no biggie) it comes out super moist and delicious. Perfect with a cup of coffee on a Sunday morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
AMAZING recipe. Served this to my extended family yesterday morning and everybody loved it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Pan size is off as other reviewers have stated but this recipe is wonderful. We LOVE the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I halved the recipe, and it worked perfectly for a 8x8 pan I used to cook in my toaster oven. I will use any cooking method not to turn on the oven in the summer time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Made this according to the recipe and it was delicious - everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Very Good and very easy I added apples to the layer and top. Baked in a 8x10 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Halved and baked in loaf pan, doubled topping. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helmsof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middle Granville, New York, USA
Living In: Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was good. I followed some reviewers suggestion and added a layer of thinly sliced apple on top the first layer. I also drizzled melted butter on top prior to baking. These were the only changes I made, everything else I followed as written. The only thing I didn't really like was the topping was still quite dry. The cake was moist. Maybe next time I will try the zucchini bread iv crumb topping with pecans added in. Which consist of brown sugar, flour, ground cinnamon, melted butter, and pecans (optional). I think that topping would be better. Overall it was good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJoBear

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States