Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I love this recipe!! I used plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream, it was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Long story short, very tasty. Unaltered, it very well may deserve 5 stars. Unfortunately, I didn't have regular flour, so I used cake flour instead. I also only had about half the required sour cream, so I added 1/2 a cup of yoghurt. Finally, I only had a 9x9 baking pan, so I made do with that (surprisingly made it all fit...). Took more like 55 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This is my third time making this coffee cake, the first time, I followed the directions exactly, but when I got to the last step of adding half the topping, it didn't cover the 8.5 x 11 inch pan at all like the photo. I mixed up another batch of the sugar topping and added about half to fully cover the cake. Unfortunately, the cake was too sweet. I tend to agree with other reviews that 9 x 13 would be WAY too big for this recipe. Second time, I used a bundt pan, and did half the batter, 1/2 of the topping, then added 1 tsp. of flour and maybe a tbsp. melted butter to the remaining topping to make it more streusel-like. Much better, but still not as thick as I prefer budnt cake to be. Third time, I did the recipe x .5 (instead of 1/2 c butter, did 3/4 c., 1.5 c. sugar, 1.5 c. sour cream, etc.) although I kept it at 2 eggs. Did the topping as I mentioned above (half dry, the top half with some flour and melted butter) and it was perfect! This filling is so good! The topping is great, but I dislike too much sweetness, and the one and a half recipe for the filling is perfect in a large budnt pan. I gave 5 stars for the excellence of the sour cream coffee cake recipe, the topping needed a bit of a tweak, but with the proper pan and the addition of some melted butter and flour (no biggie) it comes out super moist and delicious. Perfect with a cup of coffee on a Sunday morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
AMAZING recipe. Served this to my extended family yesterday morning and everybody loved it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Pan size is off as other reviewers have stated but this recipe is wonderful. We LOVE the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I halved the recipe, and it worked perfectly for a 8x8 pan I used to cook in my toaster oven. I will use any cooking method not to turn on the oven in the summer time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Made this according to the recipe and it was delicious - everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Very Good and very easy I added apples to the layer and top. Baked in a 8x10 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Halved and baked in loaf pan, doubled topping. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helmsof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middle Granville, New York, USA
Living In: Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was good. I followed some reviewers suggestion and added a layer of thinly sliced apple on top the first layer. I also drizzled melted butter on top prior to baking. These were the only changes I made, everything else I followed as written. The only thing I didn't really like was the topping was still quite dry. The cake was moist. Maybe next time I will try the zucchini bread iv crumb topping with pecans added in. Which consist of brown sugar, flour, ground cinnamon, melted butter, and pecans (optional). I think that topping would be better. Overall it was good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJoBear

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States