Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is a very nice coffee cake. The dough was rather thick so it made it harder to separate but other than that it was good. Definitely not best ever but simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Thank you!!! I lost my trusty recipe and I have a bake sale tomorrow. This is exactly the recipe I've used in the past. I did a bunch of online searching and found fancy coffee cake recipes. No need for that. This one is perfect. A fellow Wisconsinite ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was a fantastic and super easy recipe. Perfect for those last minute breakfast items. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I had some leftover sugar/butter/cinnamon topping leftover from some muffins I had made and used that along with the other for the top layer. Like some of the other reviewers, mine was very thick also. It did not poor into the pan, I had to spoon it and "try" to spread it. It came out wonderful and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel Valley, California, USA
Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Great weekday dessert choice. Baked this in a 9 inch square pan on the middle shelf for just over 40 minutes, but I forgot the vanilla extract and omitted the chopped pecans in the topping. The recipe still worked perfectly! Moist and fluffy cake with a crunchy topping (sprayed it with PAM Butter to be sure). Suggested beverage pairing: this weekday cake goes extremely well with Nescafe Taster's Choice Gourmet Roast instant coffee (in the convenient coffee stick version!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by e-claire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Very moist and tasty. I exchanged 1/2 cup on the sour cream for 1/2 cup applesauce and added apple slices in the middle layer. I also during the last 20 minutes of baking used spray butter on the topping because it did seem very dry as noted in other reviews. I used a 11x7 glass pan and added 10 min to the baking time. Was very moist and my husband thought it was delicious! We will be making this one again! Thanks for the recipe. Making this the second time I switched out the pecans for oatmeal. My daughter and son-in-law are both allergic to nuts. This worked out very well and was a hit with everyone present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ida, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
this was my 1st time making coffe cake, i wanted somthing quick and simple. this recipe was both.... my husband loved it and i didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I have made this recipe too many times to count. It is a big hit w family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Lynn Pruiett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This was so easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwaj1988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarayoussef
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Amazing cake! It is a must do, i followed all the steps exactly and it turned out great and yummy. PS the batter is really thick but thats normal, i made it in a bundt and it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This is a great and simple cake that will be gone before you know it. I did what 2 other reviewers did: I halved the recipe and used a glass baking dish, which is just the option I preferred. The other change, which I feel is much more necessary, was to put 2-3 tbsp of butter on the top just as the cake began to rise. It absolutely ensured that the cake came out super moist. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States